Mustard Seed Moments ~

3b0dbdd221c5042c3083bf25f89a9bd1--coming-home-quotes-faith-quotes

“For this son of mine was dead and is alive again; he was lost and is found. So they began to celebrate” (Luke 15:24).

Perhaps one of the most memorable and heart touching stories of grace and forgiveness in the New Testament is recorded in Luke chapter fifteen. It’s what most have come to know as the story of the Prodigal son. I tend to think of it more as the story of radical Grace …..

You probably know the story. A young man demanded his inheritance while his father was still alive, spent it all on riotous living, and found himself dirty, destitute, and despairing. I’ve been there. As despicable as pigs were to Jews, this young man took a job taking care of pigs and eating their food just to stay alive. But then, the bible says, “He came to his senses” (15:17).

I’ve been there too, have you? I’ve made bad choices, and then come to my senses …..

“How many of my father’s hired men have food to spare,” the son thought. “And here I am starving to death. I will set out and go back to my father and say to him? ‘Father, I have sinned against heaven and against you. I am no longer worthy to be called your son; make me like one of your hired men.’ So he got up and went to his father.” (Luke 15:17-20).

And where was his father? He was panning the horizon, hoping for a sign that his boy might return home. “While he was still a long way off,” the father spotted his son on the horizon. Filled with compassion, he picked up the edges of his robe and ran. He didn’t wait for his son to come to him, grovel at his feet, and beg for forgiveness. No, as soon as the father caught a glimpse of his son, he dashed toward his boy, smothered him with kisses, and welcomed him home ….

“The son said to him, ‘Father, I have sinned against heaven and against you. I am no longer worthy to be called your son.’
“But the father said to his servants, ‘Quick! Bring the best robe and put it on him. Put a ring on his finger and sandals on his feet. Bring the fattened calf and kill it. Let’s have a feast and celebrate. For this son of mine was dead and is alive again; he was lost and is found.’ So they began to celebrate. (15:22-24)

And that’s exactly what your Heavenly Father does for you. When you get off track, He waits for you to “come to your senses” and return home. When you do, He celebrates! Even the angels rejoice!

If you remember, not everyone was happy when the prodigal son returned. His big brother resented the fact that he got another chance. And you know what? There will always be those who resent the fact that we get another chance as well. Sadly, there will be those who resent God’s grace when it is shown to someone other than themselves ….

It’s pride that can’t celebrate with a prodigal that’s come home. Folks who won’t celebrate are still kidding themselves into thinking they did something right to be loved by their Father. We can never be good enough, or do enough good. That’s the beauty of grace and mercy. Unmerited favor ….

Nothing makes some people angrier than grace. We can’t earn it, and certainly of ourselves we don’t deserve it. Yet, that is the unfathomable love that God has for us. God is a God of second chances. When we stray, He pans the horizon waiting for our return. When we do, He runs to embrace us, throws His arms around us, and celebrates with the heavenly host shouting … Welcome home!

If this resonates within you reader; won’t you come home? Jesus is waiting. If this describes your child, a sister or brother, or maybe someone you know; may you join your prayers with mine, for we know that “the effectual fervant prayers of a righteous man (woman) availeth much” …..

Let us pray ~

Dear Father, thank You for welcoming me home when I stray. I pray that I will never be like the older brother who resented a prodigal’s return. I love You so much for welcoming me with open arms and rejoice over me with singing. Please watch over my prodigal children and guide them home. In Jesus’ Name, Amen

Published by: A ~ Rambling ~ Zealot ~

Saved, sanctified, and Spirit filled; I'm an on- fire, tongue-talkin' Holy Ghost dynamo! I am Your kindling my Lord ... lay me across Your alter; that Your fire may consume me and burn so brightly that all who see me may see YOU!!! .. May You be glorified in everything I say, do, or post ....

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

