Daily Ponderings

joy1

 

“Truly, truly, I say to you, you will weep and lament, but the world will rejoice. You will be sorrowful, but your sorrow will turn into joy. When a woman is giving birth, she has sorrow because her hour has come, but when she has delivered the baby, she no longer remembers the anguish, for joy that a human being has been born into the world. So also you have sorrow now, but I will see you again, and your hearts will rejoice, and no one will take your joy from you. In that day you will ask nothing of me. Truly, truly, I say to you, whatever you ask of the Father in my name, he will give it to you.” (John 16:20-23)

“No one will take your joy away from you” (John 16:22)

What a promise — joy that cannot ever be taken away! Who wouldn’t want that? It seems simple. Jesus tells His disciples that the joy of seeing Him again will wipe away all memory of their suffering, just as a woman in labor “forgets” the pain when she rejoices in the birth of her child …..

But any parent will tell you, it’s not a bed of roses once the baby is born. Raising children is a mixture of late-night feedings and watching your baby’s first step. It’s tending to a skinned knee (again) and being bowled over by an enthusiastic hug. But no matter what challenges you face, the love is always there even in difficult times …..

The ebb and flow of our emotions doesn’t change Jesus’ promise of joy. Do we face ups and downs? Of course! But the joy that Jesus gives doesn’t have to rise and fall with our circumstances. It’s not a fleeting thrill, but a steady steam running in the back of our minds — a stream that flows from the unshakeable truth of Jesus’ resurrection.

We know He is risen. We know He has overcome sin and death. We know that He has prepared a place for us in heaven. With truths like these, how can we not feel at least a glimmer of hope and joy, even in our darkest moments?

Are you having a good day today? Great! Thank Jesus for sustaining you. Are you going through something difficult? Then it’s time to proclaim what you know to be true. Tell Jesus you will trust Him. Tell Him that you believe that there’s a place in heaven with your name on it. Declare that He is bigger than what you’re going through. Praise Him through your storm. Then watch your anxiety begin to give way …..

Jesus can deepen your faith every time you turn to Him, both in sorrow and happiness. He can strengthen your foundation and give you a sense of His own joy and trust in God. You may even find yourself less subject to moodiness or better able to weather a stormy patch in life. That’s the kind of joy that Jesus wants to give you!

Precious Lord; please fill my heart with joy til my cup overflows. I need a touch from You. By the power of the Holy Ghost, empower me with strength. Help me to trust You through my ups and downs. May I be ever mindful of Your Word, which I know has the life-giving sustenance I need to face any situation and endure any griefs and sorrows. In Jesus’ mighty name I do humbly pray, Amen …..

Blessings….

 

Published by: A ~ Rambling ~ Zealot ~

Saved, sanctified, and Spirit filled; I'm an on- fire, tongue-talkin' Holy Ghost dynamo! I am Your kindling my Lord ... lay me across Your alter; that Your fire may consume me and burn so brightly that all who see me may see YOU!!! .. May You be glorified in everything I say, do, or post ....

Categories UncategorizedLeave a comment

Leave a Reply

