Ponderings ~

840db2a4132270d44e553678805f1aad

“Jesus said to Simon Peter, ‘Simon, son of Jonas, lovest thou me more than these?’ He saith unto Him, ‘Yea Lord, thou knowest that I love thee.’ He saith unto him, ‘Feed my lambs.’ (John 21:15)

There has been much written about (John 21:15-17). To be certain, I have read very good articles and commentaries surrounding this discourse. Taken as a whole, I do believe that this is a powerful message of grace to Simon Peter. However, I also believe that is a question that all of us must come to grips with as well ….

The backdrop to this entire discourse in (John 21:15-17) finds its roots in the night of Jesus’ betrayal. As the events transpired, Peter assured Jesus that he would stick with Jesus no matter what circumstances might unfold ..

If one remembers the story, Jesus responds to Peter by telling him that before that very night was finished, Peter would deny Jesus three times. Imagine Peter’s heart. Peter must have been devastated in his spirit ….

I truly believe Peter had no intention at all of denying Jesus. But again, we know the story and sure enough, before the night ended, Peter had indeed denied Jesus three times. Ending up on a Roman Cross beside Jesus wouldn’t have been a thought any of us would have relished. I’m certain, by what we are told in Scriptures, Peter was crushed, and the Word says he wept bitterly (Luke 22:62).

However, Jesus still loved Peter and by the time we get to this dialogue, in a sense, Jesus is giving Peter that second chance. Aren’t you glad we serve a God of second chances, and sometimes third and fourth too?

As you can read in (Luke 22: 54-62), Peter denies Jesus three times, yet, now Peter affirms his love for Jesus in John 21 …..

This is truly a remarkable story of grace. Yet, how does it speak to we contemporaries of the modern world?

Well, let’s just focus in on verse 16. Every day Jesus asks us the same question: Do we love Him? In fact, I would go so far as to say that with every single action or inaction, every word spoken or unspoken, Jesus asks us the very same question: do we love Him?

I would ask you now: do you love Him? Indeed our words can say one thing — but our actions can betray us equally as much as our words ….

Ponder this: what do we say or do that denies our love for Jesus? Anyone can “say” that they love Jesus. Speaking those words are not overly difficult. However, living that love out is a different matter entirely ….

I know in my personal life, if I were to be asked the question by Jesus, “Do you love me?” I would unflinchingly say, “Of course I do, Jesus!” But then I have to look at some of my words and actions and sadly, I honestly cannot say I do with everything I say or do ….

“Do you love me?” This is the question that Jesus puts before all of us. In our thoughts, words, and deeds, can we honestly say, “Yes, Lord, you know I do!”? If not, what changes do we need to make so that we can, with full confidence, say, “Yes, Lord, with all that I am”?

God, you ask me if I love you. In those places in my life where there is a resounding no, help me to allow you to work in me that when that question is asked, everyone will know the answer without even a word being spoken. Help me to use my social media platform to feed Your lambs and may I avoid posting foolishness that does not honor You. In the blessed name of Jesus. Amen ….
Blessings ❤

Published by: A ~ Rambling ~ Zealot ~

Saved, sanctified, and Spirit filled; I'm an on- fire, tongue-talkin' Holy Ghost dynamo! I am Your kindling my Lord ... lay me across Your alter; that Your fire may consume me and burn so brightly that all who see me may see YOU!!! .. May You be glorified in everything I say, do, or post ....

Categories UncategorizedLeave a comment

Leave a Reply

