5 – Minute Morsels

125171

“My soul shall make its boast in the Lord; the humble shall hear thereof, and be glad. Oh, magnify the Lord with me, and let us exalt His name together! I sought the Lord, and He heard me, and delivered me from all my fears. They looked unto Him, and were lightened: and their faces were not ashamed. This poor man cried, and the Lord heard him; and saved him out of all his troubles. The angel of the Lord encamps around those who fear Him, and delivers them. Oh, taste and see that the Lord is good! Blessed is the man who trusts in him! Oh, fear the Lord, you His saints, for there is no want to those who fear Him. The young lions do lack, and suffer hunger; but they that seek the Lord shall not want any good thing.” (Psalm 34:2-10)

“I will bless the Lord at all times” (Psalm 34:2)

Have you ever met someone who you just knew has a relationship with the Lord? Something in the way they carry themselves or in the way they speak sets them apart and makes you think of the Lord ..

Today’s psalm gives us some insight into how this happens. The psalmist offers a three-step model:

First, an attitude of praise permeates that person’s heart. Then, they let that praise issue forth from their mouth. And finally, it flows into their relationships and affects the people around them. Let’s take a closer look at this model, shall we?

maxresdefault

I will bless the Lord at all times ~ The psalmist starts out by making a promise to keep the Lord’s goodness in his mind all the time and to praise God for it. This doesn’t necessarily mean that he goes around singing worship songs and blessing the Lord all day long. Rather, he has made it a habit to honor the Lord in his thoughts and actions. A similar attitude can blossom in us when we take time to meditate on who God is and what he has done in our lives. It can even help us find joy in the more difficult times of life. It’s difficult to be sad or downcast when your heart is overflowing with gratitude and thankfulness ….

His praise shall be ever in my mouth ~ The psalmist next moves on to focus on his words. When our hearts are praising our speech follows suit. Complaining gives way to thanksgiving. Words of frustration give way to statements of hope. Anger and resentment give way to patience and words of blessing. All because we know that God is in charge, even if we can’t always see it ….

The humble will hear and be glad ~ the psalmist believes that his attitude and speech will inspire the people around him. They will rejoice that someone is honoring God, and they will begin to praise Him too ….

That’s just the kind of impact we can have when we praise God. As the praises go up — the blessings come down ….

And finally, we see that as we seek the Lord daily; always and continually placing our trust in Him; He hears us, delivers us, places His angels around us, and most importantly is “those that seek Him shall not lack any good thing” …..

That sounds heavenly to me. Wouldn’t you like to not have a lack for anything? As I read that verse the Spirit brought to my mind the scripture in Matthew: “but seek ye first the kingdom of God, and His righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you.” (Matthew 6:33)

This is one of my favorite chapters in the Bible. It is rich with instructions and promise. Much to ponder on this week; yet simply take today to focus on just the first step. Write the word “praise” on a sticky note, and put it where you will see it frequently. Every time you see it, praise the Lord for just one thing. Don’t worry if you have to repeat the same thing a couple of times. Just practice praising the Lord, and watch to see the impact it has! Thank you for spending these few minutes with me, and may you all have a beautiful and blessed day ….

790ffb7f46e1bae1d3381bd84226c688

Lord, pour your grace onto the readers of this message. As they ponder your words today, may it impart praise and honor to You, and thereby You be glorified in their lives today. May we all discover that humble place of praise and gratitude where You are magnified and the blessings flow. I praise You for Your faithfulness. This poor woman cried and You heard me and delivered me. My heart overflows with love for You my precious Lord. Glory and honor to You this day, Amen.

Published by: A ~ Rambling ~ Zealot ~

Saved, sanctified, and filled with the Holy Ghost; a woman of God, whose life is devoted and surrendered to Him. I am an on fire Zealot for Jesus Christ. I am Your kindling my Lord ... lay me across Your alter; that Your fire may consume me and burn so brightly that all who see me may see YOU!!! .. May You be glorified in everything I say, do, or post ....

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

