Wait and Rest ~

3280fd2d5a0aa66094513bf98fb6021b

“Rest in the Lord, and wait patiently on Him…” (Psalm 37:7)

Waiting on God isn’t always fun, and really is waiting on anything fun –but I’m learning it can yield great spiritual fruit in the end ….

In today’s key verse, the psalmist, King David is instructing us: “Be still in the presence of the Lord, and wait patiently for Him to act.”
Sounds easy enough, right? Oh, that I would learn this stillness and waiting David is speaking of!

David wrote more on waiting, and (Psalm 40:1-3) gives us a vivid image of God’s care for those who wait on Him:
“I waited patiently for the Lord to help me, and He turned to me and heard my cry. He lifted me out of the pit of despair, out of the mud and the mire. He set my feet on solid ground and steadied me as I walked along. He has given me a new song to sing, a hymn of praise to our God. Many will see what He has done and be amazed. They will put their trust in the Lord” …..

Reading this passage makes me wonder how long David waited on the Lord. Or if David had a special ability for this very difficult virtue. But then I remember that David often learned things the hard way. Waiting on God was a skill David continued to develop throughout his lifetime ….

229c19080724bdd761fca19ab290fccc

I long to be still in God’s presence, not plotting or scheming or worrying or … you name it. Unfortunately, I often find myself doing the exact opposite …..

Being still takes diligence, intentionality and a heart that’s trusting. I need to stop trying to rush God and remember: God is faithful. God is good. God loves me. God never leaves me. God is worthy to be praised …..

Scripture gives us many opportunities to pause and ponder God’s faithfulness. And one way I’ve learned to press pause and quiet myself before the Lord is through bible journaling. I’ve discovered it’s a creative way to respond to Scripture right there on the page where God spoke to me ….

Instead of rushing through my reading, I engage with it through journaling a thought or insight, writing a prayer or creating art splashed on the page. Taking the time to record what God is doing becomes a valuable remembrance of God’s character and truths, goodness and faithfulness ….

As I look to David for the model of waiting patiently on the Lord, I wonder what would happen if I lived this out more. How much more could God accomplish in and through me? What if I relied on Him to supply peace, hope, even expectation in the waiting?

Whether you are in a season of waiting or not, try recording some of what God is laying on your heart on the pages of your Bible. Your Bible will become a keepsake you will treasure for years and years to come, and when you pass it down to your children, it will be a precious gift revealing the deepest part of your heart to them.

e7312a8f38fabbc7dafa11f34e576c17

Dear Lord, thank You for giving us Your inspired Word that we can soak in daily as we are still in Your presence. Thank You for Your words of truth, and the chance to get to know You better. Help us trust You more completely. We seek Your wisdom and are confident that You always know what is best for us. Give us strength, hope and peace in the waiting. Help us to wait expectantly with joy-filled hearts — and may we praise You always! In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

“We can rejoice, too, when we run into problems and trials, for we know that they help us develop endurance. And endurance develops strength of character, and character strengthens our confident hope of salvation. And this hope will not lead to disappointment. For we know how dearly God loves us, because He has given us the Holy Spirit to fill our hearts with His love.” (Romans 5:3-5)

Published by: A ~ Rambling ~ Zealot ~

Saved, sanctified, and Spirit filled; I'm an on- fire, tongue-talkin' Holy Ghost dynamo! I am Your kindling my Lord ... lay me across Your alter; that Your fire may consume me and burn so brightly that all who see me may see YOU!!! .. May You be glorified in everything I say, do, or post ....

Categories UncategorizedLeave a comment

Leave a Reply

