Refreshing is Coming ~

FB_IMG_1492184337784

“Repent ye therefore, and be converted, that your sins may be blotted out when the times of refreshing shall come from the presence of the Lord.” (Acts 3:19)

The term most frequently used in the New Testament for real change and thinking differently is the Greek word ‘metanoia’. It’s the word for repentance. At its core, repentance is a recognition of sin followed by heartfelt sorrow culminating in a change of behavior.

dc76c745b8ede14749a228b33b80ecbb

Repentance is not a place we merely visit; repentance needs to be where we live. (James 3:2) says, “We all stumble in many ways” — so you can’t just drop in on repentance and then get over it and walk away ….

5da7804e5561baea8b4fadd96d2f3b3f

I’ve had to be broken, stretched, challenged, and changed — and I don’t want to get over it. I want to stay right in that place, and I invite you to join me there …..

Why? Because repentance is a life-giving thing. It’s the cry in the mouth of almost every one of God’s messengers in the Bible. They were all calling on God’s people to repent. And not just once in a while or tangentially. “Repent!” was often the whole message. When John the Baptist showed up, what was his message? “Repent” (Matthew 3:2). Then the early church preserved the pattern: “Repent therefore, and turn back, that your sins may be blotted out, that times of refreshing may come from the presence of the Lord.”

1fc54f0e6a9ee93413fec3f113259d95

If you’re not living in repentance, does the following line of thinking sound familiar to you? “You know, I’ve gradually gotten to this place where my walk with God has become kind of formulaic. My heart’s a bit hard. I’m going through the motions and it doesn’t bother me anymore not to talk to others about Jesus. My Bible’s been sitting on the table, unopened between trips to church “…….

731339bad7d4c488306e7c9dc5004152

What’s going to change that dull and dreary mindset? Listen to Acts 3:19–20! It’s that recognition of sin followed by heartfelt sorrow culminating in a change of behavior. Notice the promise of “times of refreshing” that God longs to give us. Right at this moment, the storerooms of heaven are bursting with the mercy God longs to shower upon you if you would just meet the conditions that He prescribes to us. Repent!

This turning is simple, but it isn’t easy or necessarily quick. In fact, your personal awareness of the need to repent right now has a lot to say about your relationship with God, because only He can bring you to the place of contrition and change …..

a63c956da7dfdd0edda8c6a2b906646e

Paul told Timothy that an effective servant of God would be “correcting his opponents with gentleness. God may perhaps grant them repentance leading to a knowledge of the truth” (2 Timothy 2:25). So please heed this gentle urging: only God’s Spirit can pierce your defenses with repentance. If that’s happening in this moment, don’t turn away or put things off! Humble yourself before your heavenly Father, name and confess the sins, then ask for forgiveness in Jesus’ name. Don’t hurry, but wait for God to point out what needs to change. Your soul and relationship with Him will start to fill with the refreshment that only comes by way of repentance ……

Lord, thank You for speaking to me by Your Word. I am pierced by the thought that anything in me would resist those moments when You grant me repentance and open my eyes to the truth. I want to experience life deep in Your presence, so I ask You to help me be ever open to Your correction. Create in me a clean heart, O Lord; whatever it takes. I ask You this in Jesus’ name, amen.

290000a18d76ca4e896408e0285fdd73

Published by: A ~ Rambling ~ Zealot ~

Saved, sanctified, and filled with the Holy Ghost; a woman of God, whose life is devoted and surrendered to God. In essence, I am a Zealot for Jesus Christ. I am Your kindling my Lord ... lay me across Your alter; that Your fire may consume me and burn so brightly that all who see me may see YOU!!! And thereby You will be glorified .... May You be glorified in everything I say, do, or post ....

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

