Piercing the Darkness ~

35d76caf80611675a1da8f10fbd9f611

The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it.” (John 1:5)

Do you ever have little places of discouragement that entangle around your heart? In the bigger picture of life things are good; but then there’s this little dark place — a little black hole. You know, that little place that sometimes doesn’t feel so little ….

It hangs like a cloud — blocking the sun, casting shadows. Maybe it’s an argument you and your husband have had one too many times. Your relationship is good, but this one topic feels like a black hole ….

Maybe it’s an issue with one of your kids. You have an amazing child, but there is this one behavioral tendency that baffles you, embarrasses you and causes you to fear. It feels like a black hole ….

Or maybe it’s a recurring frustration with a friend. She’s amazing, but there’s this one part of your friendship that darkens the collective good. And you can’t figure out how to address it. Now it’s happening with more frequency, and it feels like a black hole ….

I know. It’s hard to even find words to describe that feeling ….

Recently I was up at night praying and crying out to God to help me better process some of the hard situations in my own life. I asked God to shed some of His light on what I’m struggling through so I don’t get lost in the darkness of confusion. His voice wasn’t loud or definitive. Just a slight shift of my thoughts to be more in line with truth, and I knew His light was defeating my darkness. Clearly I heard: “just look at all the prayers that have been recently answered” ….

Small changes. The big, grand finale I keep hoping for hasn’t yet come. But might I notice the beautiful symphony of hopeful notes in the in-between? Those beautiful waves of warmth from radiating from His presence; and the sweet loving tones of that still, small voice: “just look at the strength you’re gaining in the process” ….

Every time I turn to God and ask for Him to shed light on my situation, I’m trading a little of my struggle for a bit of His strength. I get to refocus and look at the reality that a black hole isn’t really a black whole ….

The whole isn’t all bad. Yes, there are some issues to address and some tensions to manage, but I can’t let Satan use this frustration to darken my outlook ….

Jesus reminds us, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness but will have the light of life” (John 8:12).

He also assures us in our key verse that darkness cannot win against light, “The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it” (John 1:5 ).

Ask Jesus to shed His light on your situation tonight. Look at this from Jesus’ perspective. Use truth to do something positive in this area that appears so bleak to you. Invest the time to make a little imperfect progress by seeking Him in prayer before you retire for the night …
In the dark place — alone and quiet before Him. Then once He enters in and you feel Him there, that darkness won’t be so encompassing, and that dark place won’t be quite so dark with a little light cast upon it ….

Are there any areas of discouragement in your life right now that feel like a black hole? Ask God to shed His light on this situation and help you look at it with fresh perspective. Think about and reflect on what prayers — even small ones — have already been answered in your life? What strength are you gaining?

Father God, I need Your light. Light defeats darkness every time. And while I might not have all the answers to my struggles that I feel that I need, I am seeing more hope than ever. Jesus, You are my light and my hope. Because of You, even my darkest nights aren’t so daunting and confusing. Thank You for Your peace that passes all understanding. Thank You for leading me. And thank You for loving me. As I prepare to rest, I surrender my struggle and I lay it all at Your feet now. Keep me ever so safe and secure throughout the night and if it be Your will, anoint me with your grace to see another new day. In Jesus mighty name, Amen ….

49c403ebb0fee9f13860c37f54884959

Published by: A ~ Rambling ~ Zealot ~

Saved, sanctified, and filled with the Holy Ghost; a woman of God, whose life is devoted and surrendered to God. In essence, I am a Zealot for Jesus Christ. I am Your kindling my Lord ... lay me across Your alter; that Your fire may consume me and burn so brightly that all who see me may see YOU!!! And thereby You will be glorified .... May You be glorified in everything I say, do, or post ....

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

