Broken Into Beautiful ~

significance-300x300

“Therefore, if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things have passed away; behold all things have become new.” (2 Corinthians 5:17)

I admit, I’m a sucker for the makeover shows. And it doesn’t matter what kind either; home makeovers, fashion makeovers, weight makeovers, even the shows that take a person from drab to fab. I just love to see an amazing transformation! Don’t you?

As I was praying in the Holy Ghost this morning, my prayers had such a sweet anointing and I could feel the Spirit moving, mending, and restoring. As I sat to study, warm and snug in my recliner, sipping on my first cup of coffee in my new home, I began to weep again as I reflected on how loving and merciful my God is ….

Last year I “transformed” my little family a bit when I added a tiny little puppy to the mix. Fun, right? Well, mostly, yes, but there is a bit more to the story …..

She was a dirty little squealing scrap of fur found in a dumpster by one of my homeless folks. Barely 4 weeks old, she was brought to me and after a warm bath, a little milk and tucked under my electric blanket, the squealing subsided and well, she just kind of tugged on my heart strings …

fb_img_1485440269689

Needless to say, she stayed, and let’s just say that it took a good while for my precious new bouncy barky addition, whom I named Chloe, to get the hang of potty training and healthy chewing patterns. My little, dog caused me big problems when she chewed up and stained my carpet. It looked awful, and accidents happened repeatedly for months and months that seemed like years and years! I can only thank God that all this took place in that little old trailer that had many more issues than torn and stained carpet ….

Though it already had torn stained up patches, eventually, when she grew into her bladder and learned better doggy habits, I was kinda ready for a makeover of a carpet-kind for my munched-on, stained-up room. But I knew that was something way out of my financial realm, so we just settled in and I praised God regardless. It was never too dirty for me to kneel on, dance on or give God glory for ….

And in His infinite, unfathomable ways He had already gone before me and prepared the way for what I had not even known I would need or had began to pray for yet: a new home ….

And just over a year later, almost to the date; Chloe turns 1 year old this month, the move took place, and as I shared yesterday; with brand spanking new carpet, among all the other brand new amenities, including a new doggie door!! It was a beautiful transformation and I am giddy with gratitude. The whole process has reminded me of this truth: God is all about beautiful transformations …..

fb_img_1485440317506

He is an active, deeply personal, infinitely caring God who restores us on a heart level with makeovers of a masterful kind. When we turn to Him in repentance, He takes the broken, stained areas of our lives away and replaces our mess with a beauty that is far beyond ourselves — the beauty of Christ ….

5b362a8e4a5d31162115caec2dc492d1

The Bible has a great deal to say about what happens when we turn to God:

“Those who look to Him are radiant; they are never covered in shame.” (Psalm 34:5).

Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past. See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland.” (Isaiah 43:18-19).

And let us not forget the first passage ~ “Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here!” (2 Corinthians 5:17).

2corinthians5_17

Listen my friends, I am living proof of the scandalous nature of God’s grace …. of His willingness to forgive and restore ugly, tattered heart places. I don’t write from a platform of perfection, but from a foundation of grace that was finished and established by the blood of Jesus Christ ….

46275_10151254665921223_527514365_n

I was horribly broken when I was first introduced to Christ. A life of disillusionment, beaten and broken by childhood incest and trauma, drug addiction, homelessness, and other unspeakables. Then I met Him ….

5065147_f520

He gave His life so that you and I could live beyond our pasts — beyond our disappointments — beyond our biggest mistakes and our deepest pains. He bore a cross so we could be forgiven and made new. So we could have abundant life. Full life. Not a held-back-by-the-stains-and-shames-of-your-past life. Your past does not define you, nor determine your usefulness to His kingdom and His glory …..

broken

I don’t know where this finds you right now, but God does. He knows and sees everything, and He loves you like crazy. We all have brokenness that needs fixing and stains that need to be cleaned. We all need a makeover. The good news of the Gospel is simple: when we call out to God and seek His heart and forgiveness through Jesus Christ, He does a new thing! He meets us with mercy, forgives completely, blesses us with grace that we don’t deserve, and then restores us, changes us, and through the power of the Holy Ghost; transforms us, until we are beautifully broken in Him and through Him. From ashes to beauty; from broken to beautiful …

cf6c7fc88dffe4bb312c7202ab9e1229

Are you ready for the Lord to do a new thing in your life today? I challenge you to seek Him and lay down your disappointments, your failures, your shame and your guilt, your broken dreams, and just like a child comes to her father with a broken toy; when we come to Jesus and bring all of that which has been broken, He will mend it, fix it, and restore it …..

fb_img_1485440342826

Let’s pray ~

Dear Lord, I’m so grateful that You love makeovers as much as I do! You know my heart, my messes, failures, and all my scars and wounds. Nothing is hidden from You. Please create a clean heart in me today and do a new and beautiful thing in my life. I praise You and I thank You right now for the beauty that You are bringing me. I give You all the glory. In Jesus’ Name I pray, Amen ….

Published by: A ~ Rambling ~ Zealot ~

Saved, sanctified, and Spirit filled; I'm an on- fire, tongue-talkin' Holy Ghost dynamo! I am Your kindling my Lord ... lay me across Your alter; that Your fire may consume me and burn so brightly that all who see me may see YOU!!! .. May You be glorified in everything I say, do, or post ....

Categories UncategorizedLeave a comment

Leave a Reply

