Practice the Pause

pause-pray-timeout

“He says, Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.” (Psalm 46:10)

bible-verse-18l

One after another, choices needing decisions just keep coming ….

Home decisions hang in the balance: “when will this be fixed? … “will everything get done in time” … “who will help me move” …

Family issues and decisions tug on my heart: “will they be saved” … “should I be more bold about preaching to them?” .. “will she ever forgive me?” …

Health and physical decisions overwhelm me: “who can I turn to now?” “where do I go” … “will I always have to hurt this way?” … “what do I do?” …..

Overwhelming sorrow, major decision fatigue, even hopelessness threatens to set in. Even as I write these words, my mind feels so very tired of the many decisions that need to be made, and there’s no clarity on just how to make them all …..

Weary, my heart turns to the only One who has the answers to each and every single decision. I bend my knee to share my tired heart with the Lord ….

67f92d645a122cb2d9e4845258ed6984

A prayer seeps from my heart, poured out through my tears, as they fall at the feet of my Master. Weariness oozes from each tear: my heart cries ‘Lord renew my awareness of Your presence. I need You. I need a fresh infilling of Your Spirit in mine. I need Your wisdom. I need You to do a gentle cleansing of my soul and a powerful work in me that flows from me to relieve this pressure, this anxiety, and give me Your peaceful guidance leading me to purposeful obedience despite how things appear or how I feel’ ….

psalm-46-5-large

As I pray in the Spirit, the Comforter arrives, the revelation comes, and I realize that in the natural, this pathway of making these decisions alone will not lead to peace. He alone is peace. After my heart’s cries, and through obedience to follow Him above all else that I think or feel — I make the best choice I can choose — turning to His Word to me: “Be still, and know that I am God …” (Psalm 46:10).

Do you see that comma? It seemed to jump off the page. A pause …

“Be still”

When I’m still, then I will know. I will know the peace He embodies. He will show me His will. I will know that He is God. Not when I’m busy, not when I’m productive or even when I make all the right decisions, but when I’m still …..

c8e9d8bed76290821922e9fff1e03c78

The word “still” in Hebrew (the original language of the Old Testament) means: to hang limp, sink down, be feeble, to be lazy, to leave alone, abandon, withdraw, to show oneself slack ……

Wait…. Am I reading this right? Could it be that God is endorsing this type of behavior? Well yes, I have read His word correctly. Be still. Be patient. Be quiet. Be trustful and know. Sink down to your knees. That is where He calls me to go: Pause and find Him. Peace awaits me there ….

His Word assures me: “The Lord will fight for you; you need only to be still.” (Exodus 14:14)

95743b7a96f4592a158984ee59c515cb

He promises me: “You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.” (Jeremiah 29:13)

He says to me: “In repentance and rest you will be saved, yet in quietness and trust is your strength.” (Isaiah 30:15)

31032022d2a60d07fb3d6c6382ea9511

He confirms with me: “Although the Lord gives you the bread of adversity and the water of affliction, your teachers will be hidden no more; with your own eyes you will see them. Whether you turn to the right or the left, your ears will hear a voice behind you saying, this is the way, walk in it.” (Isaiah 30:20)‭

He instructs me: “Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus.” (Philippians 4:6-7).

inspirational-bible-verse-8l

And with clarity I hear: “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to Him, and He will make your paths straight.” (Proverbs 3:5-6).

76ec6d502c205602036afadc63517142

In summary, is decision fatique something you experience? If so, perhaps, it’s time to HALT. Allow me to share something I have learned and practice often. When I am overwhelmed, or find myself worked into a frenzied state of being Hungry, Angry, Lonely, or Tired; it’s time to halt; to practice the pause, to be still and to pray, to seek and find God’s peace ….

0c06c0ed1a9a0354c7b779586fc55bb6

I challenge you to spend some time being still before God today. Present to Him the decisions you need to make. Then ask Him to help you pause before Him, so He can give you the peace and the wisdom you need. Remember to HALT if you find yourself becoming overwhelmed or anxious and trust in His promises ….

80e4f81bcda09e80ca62b9b7d2d56c26

Let us pray ~

My Lord, being still when there is so much to do seems wrong, yet, I know Your ways are not my ways. Help me to breathe deep, be still, and halt in my day, to pause simply to pray and take You in. I know that I can trust You and rest in your promise that You will work everything out for my good if I will just let go and wait on You. Thank You my Lord for Your faithfulness and Your Word in which I find my peace. In Jesus’ name I pray, Amen

1bf5b00f899b57b295d5a4d6b8d7958d

Published by: A ~ Rambling ~ Zealot ~

Saved, sanctified, and filled with the Holy Ghost; a woman of God, whose life is devoted and surrendered to God. In essence, I am a Zealot for Jesus Christ. I am Your kindling my Lord ... lay me across Your alter; that Your fire may consume me and burn so brightly that all who see me may see YOU!!! And thereby You will be glorified .... May You be glorified in everything I say, do, or post ....

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

