Rise Up ~

fb_img_1479300632593

Have you ever been so discouraged that you just wanted to stay in bed and pull the covers up over your head? Maybe that’s where you are right now ……

I’ve hidden under the covers a time or two myself, okayyy, well maybe more than two ….

So how do we venture out? How do we get over the discouragement and get going again?

There’s a story in the Bible that helps me when I feel mopey. (You don’t mind if I get in the Bible a little do you? I didn’t think so….

God addressed Samuel: “So, how long are you going to mope over Saul? You know I’ve rejected him as king over Israel. Fill your flask with anointing oil and get going” (1 Samuel 16:1)

A few years after the Israelites made it to the Promised Land, they grew tired of being ruled by God through the prophets. They wanted to have a king like all the other nations ….

Samuel was the ruling prophet at the time, and he told the people all the reasons having a king was a bad idea. They persisted in their demands, and eventually God allowed them to choose a king. “They are not rejecting you,” God assured Samuel. “They are rejecting Me.”

The people picked a man named Saul because he was tall, dark, and handsome. I’m not kidding. It’s right there in black and white. Saul reluctantly accepted the kingship, was anointed by the Holy Spirit, and totally depended on God for his new position ….

But after a while, Saul decided being a king wasn’t so hard after all. He disobeyed and dishonored God by taking matters into his own hands. (Never a good idea, I might add). As a result, God snatched away Saul’s kingship and removed his anointing ….

Samuel was so discouraged over Saul’s failure; he went to bed and pulled the covers up over his head. He was disappointed in Saul, and felt quite sorry for himself ….

Now this is important. If I were sitting right there with you, I’d stand up in a chair and read this out loud. Here we go. One day God said, “How long will you mourn for Saul, since I have rejected him as king over Israel” (1 Samuel 16:1).

I love what the (MSG) Message version says: “So, how long are you going to mope over Saul?”

Mope? Yep. That’s a very good word. Exactly how I get sometimes ….
God asks you and me the same question: How long will you mope because life hasn’t turned out like you thought it would. How long?

Decorative vintage hand drawn floral background

I don’t mean to make light of any of the painful or discouraging situations in your life. But understand, I’ve had them too. I’ve had some very traumatic occurances, and even more recently some unexpected circumstance happenings where I wasn’t sure I’d ever get out of bed again. Didn’t really want to either …..

cb16d7a9c93aa91b810cdabb291c0065

But here’s what I know today: No matter how painful or discouraging the circumstances of life may be, God never intends for you to get stuck there. You should never put a period where God puts a comma.

There’s always more of your story to be written. When you loosen the string holding the binding of your book tightly shut, and give God a free hand to continue the narrative of your life, things which “the eye has not seen and the ear have not heard and have not entered the mind of man” (1 Corinthians 2:9) shall all be yours ….

c264f8a21dbdea9d7ad3d358725b5093

God goes on to say to Samuel: “Fill your horn with oil and be on your way; I am sending you to Jesse of Bethlehem. I have chosen one of his sons to be king”

At some point in our moping about, God comes to us and says, “Enough already. Get up. Get going. Be on your way. I’ve got something for you to do. Your life is not over. The story has more chapters to be written. Let go of your discouragement and take hold of the next adventure I have planned for you.”

We all can get into the muligrubs, and once we start dwelling in those thoughts, then that good ol’ pity party begins and we start the moping process, and then depression is hot on its heels. However, this is not God’s way nor His plan for you. He has not designed us to live or walk in a defeated state; and needless to say, it is not of faith; and the Word clearly says: “whatsoever that is not of faith is sin.” (Romans 14:23).

I can just hear someone right now: sin you say? Yes, sin because to walk in doubt, despair, worry, or fear is not fully trusting God. And the opposite of fear is faith. He says: “My grace is sufficient” and my strength is made perfect in your weakness” …. The question is: what will you say?

As it is written, Samuel was terrified, but God assured him: I will show you what to do. You are to anoint for me the one I indicate” ….

The Lord says to you today: “Arise, and I will show you what to do”. That’s all God expects of me and of you: to take the first step of obedience. Get up and get going. He will take care of the rest ….

fb_img_1479300657903

I love the next sentence in the story: “Samuel did what God told him” (v. 4). Ah, the key to experiencing the adventurous life of a thriving faith …. the faith you always longed for … and the entrance to that life is only found through obedience and surrender …

In closing, I would ask the same of you: what do you do about you? Are you ready to get up and get going? What are you discouraged about today?
Would you say that you are somewhat stuck because of it? What do you think God is telling you to do? More importantly, are you willing to take the first step of faith to move forward?

“The Lord makes firm the steps of the one who delights in Him;  though he may stumble, he will not fall, for the Lord upholds him with His hand.”
(Psalm 37:23‭-‬24)

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding;  in all your ways submit to Him, and He will make your paths straight.” (Proverbs 3:5‭-‬6).

“Yet I still dare to hope when I remember this: The faithful love of the Lord never ends! His mercies never cease. Great is His faithfulness; His mercies begin afresh each morning. I say to myself, The Lord is my inheritance; therefore, I will hope in Him! The Lord is good to those who depend on Him, to those who search for Him. So it is good to wait quietly for salvation from the Lord.”
(Lamentations 3:21‭-‬26)

As the rain always give relief to the earth after its duty, so shall the peace of God be with you this day. Today shall be more peaceful for you as you step into it. Every satanic agenda trying to take advantage of you today, to inflict sorrow into your life or your household shall be a waste because it’s plans has failed over you ….
I bind the devil and his minions and any spirits that would hinder your plans and tasks that God has purposed for you today …. I bless you, bless your efforts, bless your soul, bless your day, bless your going out and coming in, bless your finances, and bless your thoughts, and I bless everything connected to you. Let all the chains be broken right NOW in Jesus name ….

12182367_f520

As you embark on the journey to a new day, you shall surely make it to the end in joy and peace, and whatever is bound on earth, shall be bound in heaven, and so shall it be ever be done …..

ab768bd7645ac351daa6cc96306ece8e

Let’s pray ~

Heavenly Father You are our refuge and strength in the bad times, as well as the good times; and although the difficulties of life so often cause us to lose our hope, or blur our vision, tighten our grip on the hope we have in You sweet Lord, as there are some dear believers that struggle with depression and who fall into despair when times of trouble hit their lives. Lord we grieve when this causes men and women to question their hope in You and even walk away from the trust they had in the Lord Jesus Christ. But You are a God of great grace, infinite mercy, and loving-kindness, and we bring before You all believers who are going through the testing of their faith in the form of despair or depression today.
Look down in pity and mercy on all who are struggling in this way. Bring peace and comfort I pray, to all who are facing the pain that depression brings, and reach down in Your love to touch each life and to draw them back into Your loving arms of forgiveness and grace. We ask this if the lovely and precious name of Jesus, Amen ….

fb_img_1479142712610

Published by: A ~ Rambling ~ Zealot ~

Saved, sanctified, and Spirit filled; I'm an on- fire, tongue-talkin' Holy Ghost dynamo! I am Your kindling my Lord ... lay me across Your alter; that Your fire may consume me and burn so brightly that all who see me may see YOU!!! .. May You be glorified in everything I say, do, or post ....

Categories UncategorizedLeave a comment

Leave a Reply

