Pain to Passion ~

fb_img_1479306366223

There’s something healing about watching God bring blessings from our struggles. If we let Him, God will take our pain and lead us to a place of purpose ….

I have developed an outlook for life that stands me in good stead through stormy times. And though I don’t choose the storms, I wouldn’t change the experience of weathering them. It’s when I’ve grown the most ….

fb_img_1479306310588

One of the most memorable transformations came when my thinking began to change. I was homeless, addicted to drugs, and had just ended a very toxic relationship that nearly destroyed me. And although not something I would have purposely chosen in my “right mind”, I cannot reject the wisdom that it has brought me.
But looking back at my life since 2004, I can say that I wouldn’t go back and change the experience. Sure there are things I did during that time that I regret, and would like to do over. But I’m referring to “big picture” things ….

fb_img_1479306377051

One of the biggest things God did during that time was to transform my pain into passion. I was in pain. It was excruciating, and too grotesque to even speak of, to just imagine what I was enduring and experiencing at that time. I did not know the Lord yet, but He was still with me even then. But even then at that point, my thinking was being altered by His gentle loving hand. It was the ending and the beginning …

fb_img_1479306346083

With God walking beside me now, I find myself moving from a place of pain to one of passion.
I want to share what I call the “5 P’s” of that journey. They may help you get through tough times:

1.) Pain
It starts when we acknowledge our pain and turn to God ….

2.) Passion
God begins changing that pain into passion ….

3.) Process
It doesn’t happen overnight, and it can’t be rushed ….

4.) Productivity
Sitting and worrying is torture. When we let God use us, we find healing in activity ….

5.) Purpose
Finally, as we build on what we’ve experienced, we find purpose ….

I realized today that there were others who were facing the same challenges — many of them without the support I have had. As I look beyond myself, I can feel my heart swell with an urge to make a difference in the lives of others. And I learned a valuable lesson from my past pain. If we let Him, God will take our pain and lead us to a place of purpose. I hope that each of you will experience such a transformation …..

fb_img_1479306324166

As Thanksgiving approaches, and the blues threaten to consume me, I am ever mindful today of how far I have come, and how thankful I am today — not only for those painful struggles, but even more so for the loving, patient God I now serve Who, never gave up on me when everything in my life screamed against Him and I was by all appearances deemed unredeemable. I am so grateful for that process, and even when the accusing memories with all their grief and sorrow hold me hostage, yet, am I thankful for a Savior who is in my life to bring me through and restore me ….

fb_img_1479306332572

God allows the struggles in our lives for many reasons; many we won’t know until we reach Heaven. But the one thing I do know is this: God IS faithful. He brings good out of bad. I’ve watched Him do it in my life, and I’ve watched Him do it in the lives of those around me.
I’ve learned to watch for that redemption and anticipate it. It gives me hope as I walk through the challenges of today. Beyond that, I’ve found that there’s not a cut-off date for the blessings He brings. He continues to pour out good even years down the road. So no matter what’s happening today; we can rest in the fact that God has a plan, and we’ll see the fruit of the struggle ripen into blessings for tomorrow. Instead of being physically and emotionally broken as I was…TODAY, I am beautifully broken for Jesus Christ, each day that I wake and thank Him for my day ahead and submit my will to His….beauty for ashes….
God bless you all ……

a5b6261bcb609fb4461c45267e6c8eba

 

Published by: A ~ Rambling ~ Zealot ~

Saved, sanctified, and Spirit filled; I'm an on- fire, tongue-talkin' Holy Ghost dynamo! I am Your kindling my Lord ... lay me across Your alter; that Your fire may consume me and burn so brightly that all who see me may see YOU!!! .. May You be glorified in everything I say, do, or post ....

Categories UncategorizedLeave a comment

Leave a Reply

