Two Little Letters

“I have blotted out your transgressions like a cloud and your sins like mist; return to me, for I have redeemed you.” (Isaiah 44:22)

i-have-swept-away-your-offenses-like-a-cloud-and-your-sins-like-the-morning-mist-return-to-me-for-i-have-redeemed-you-quote-1

I don’t think any prefix in the English bible could be more beautiful than the letters “re.” Two little letters that simply mean: “again”….

God appears to have a particular affinity for “re” verbs. For instance, “return to me for I have redeemed you.” ….It looks like He’d just turn His back on us when we turn our backs on Him, but He doesn’t. Instead He echoes throughout Scripture, “Return to me!” …..

Return ~ You’ll find that one “re” verb over 400 times in the Bible. But that’s not the only fabulous “re” verb in the Bible. Here’s a list of some of my favorites (with emphasis added in bold).

There’s renew: they that wait on the Lord shall
renew their strength.”
(Isaiah 40:31).

isaiah-4031

And revive: “I dwell in the high and holy place, and also with him who is of a contrite and lowly spirit, to
revive the spirit of the lowly and revive the heart of the contrite.” (Isaiah 57:15)

isaiah-57-15

And restore: “He restores my soul” (Psalm 23:3).

tumblr_o7a3n6ry1r1u342cjo1_500

And then there’s repair: Oh, and rebuild: and even sometimes in the same verse: “In that day, I will restore David’s fallen shelter; repair I will its broken walls and restore its ruins; and will rebuild  it as it used to be.” (Amos 9:11).

waiting

And replant: “I have rebuilt the ruined places and replanted that which was desolate. I am Lord; I have spoken, and I will do it.” (Ezekiel 36:36)

29ca2418e1279bc0a355b471b42f5ca2

Astonishingly, there appears to be no limit to what God will lovingly and lavishly redo and refresh for those simply willing to return and repent ….
“Repent therefore, and turn back, that your sins may be blotted out, that time of
refreshing may come from the presence of the Lord, and that He may send the restoring of all the things about which God spoke by the mouth of His holy prophets long ago.” (Acts 3:19-21).

acts_3_19_640x320

Simon Peter is Exhibit A for those of us in Christ who could use a redo.

“And the Lord said, Simon, Simon! Indeed, Satan has asked for you, that he may sift you as wheat. But I have prayed for you, that your faith when you have returned to Me, strengthen your brethren.” (Luke 22:31-32)

luke-22-32-400x400

So, you blew it again? Been rejected again? Been broken again? Fallen in that trap again? Been foolish again? Faithless again?  Well, I know a Savior willing to put you back together again. Go back to Jesus. Yes, you get to return, because “re” is the most beautiful prefix in history ..

page1_picture0_1315764049

Our all glorious God and heavenly Father, we are awed by Your limitless grace, infinite patience, and unfathomable love. Thank You for the endless power of resurrection because of the cross of Christ. Apply it to us lavisly this day. In Jesus beautiful name, Amen …

685ccdd3e12b30cefa09f477604be28a

God is with us …. God bless you today!

Published by: A ~ Rambling ~ Zealot ~

Saved, sanctified, and Spirit filled; I'm an on- fire, tongue-talkin' Holy Ghost dynamo! I am Your kindling my Lord ... lay me across Your alter; that Your fire may consume me and burn so brightly that all who see me may see YOU!!! .. May You be glorified in everything I say, do, or post ....

Categories UncategorizedLeave a comment

Leave a Reply

