Why Me Lord?

bbbfw-2

Have you ever asked God why? “Why me, Lord?” ….
“Why not pick somebody else for this?” ….
“Why am I always the one going through the fire?”

In the good times we say, “Lord, I love You.” We quote, “Oh, in the volume of the book it is written of me I delight to do Your will, O Lord.” Then we add, “Father take me, mold me, use me. Take my life, and let it be consecrated to Thee.”

We say all this until God asks us to do something or we go through something that is very uncomfortable; something we have never done or experienced ever before ….

Then we start singing a different tune. “I’ve never passed this way before, Lord. It’s dark, and I’m not sure where I’m going. I can’t see the light at the end of the tunnel. You’re making me step into the unknown” …..

Or maybe it’s more like, “Yes, I know You are holding my hand. I know You are more concerned about me than the many sparrows You so carefully watch over. I know you have numbered the very hairs on my head. I know You will never leave me or forsake me. But Lord, I don’t know about this! ….

“This doesn’t make any sense. This goes beyond my ability to understand. Why are You doing this, Lord? I’m going to trust You in it, but I don’t understand it. I can’t do this by myself. Carry me, Lord. Let me know You are with me in it.”

We have all experienced those times when our world falls apart. Nothing is working out, as it should. We receive awesome prophetic words about a future ministry, husbands, families, wealth; and we get so excited. But just when everything seems to be going well, the bottom falls out. Our entire world is shaken …

why-me-lord-christian-poetry-by-deborah-ann

The difficulties come in many forms: Perhaps you are lied about in ministry, or your husband has an affair with a best friend, or a family member is diagnosed with cancer. It could be you are trapped in a bad relationship. Maybe you are facing eviction or you’ve lost your job. Perhaps you are so sick or depressed that you just want to die ….

During times like this, have you been tempted to ask, “Why me, Lord?”

I know I have. I’m sure Joseph must have to. He knew his destiny was to rule — but he found himself at the bottom of a pit, discarded by his own brothers. Later, just when it appeared he was beginning to walk in purpose, he was consigned to prison—for rightly fleeing from his master’s wife when she tried to seduce him!

Do you think Joseph might have asked, “Why me, Lord?” and “Where are You in all this?” But God had a greater purpose. He was preparing Joseph to save two nations. What others meant for evil — God turned into good: “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love Him, who have been called according to His purpose.” (Romans 8:28).

romans-8-28

We tend to see our circumstances through our natural eyes. We live in time and space, so we live in today. But God sees eternity. He sees the end from the beginning. He knows the outcome already. And He knows the plans He has for us; “plans to prosper us and not harm us, plans to give us hope and a future” (Jeremiah 29:11).

5183078_orig

Those who stood at the foot of the cross at Calvary and watched Jesus die lived in agony for a time. Perhaps they asked, “Why, Lord?” when they heard Him cry out, “My God, My God, why have You forsaken Me?” Though Jesus had prophesied His own resurrection, the people did not understand and could not anticipate the eventual glorious outcome of this terrible scene ….

But we know that God had a greater purpose for Jesus; to save the lost and to reproduce Himself in a new creation called the sons and daughters of God, who would be joint heirs with Him in God’s kingdom.

Just recently, the Lord allowed me to go through some intense spiritual warfare that caused me to question Him. In the process, He has been doing a deep work within me, and when I asked, “Why, Lord?” His response was simple: “For the greater purpose” ….

Perhaps you are going through something you don’t understand. You are bombarded on every side with doubts, fears and uncertainties. Please know that you can trust God in and through your circumstances. Believe that He has a plan for you and that the end result will be good, even greater than before ….

Even more important, know that there is a higher purpose you can’t see yet; one that may include your being the means of salvation for someone else. Just as Joseph was used to save two nations, and Jesus to bring salvation to the world, so the Lord will use you for His greater purpose ….

You may not be able to see the light at the end of the tunnel, but you know the One who is holding that light. Are you willing to trust Him to lead you through? He will turn your trial around for your good, and answer your cry by pointing to the fulfillment of His plans ….

trust2

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding;  in all your ways submit to Him, and He will make your paths straight.” (Proverbs 3:5‭-‬6).

This week tell the Lord that you trust Him in the midst of your circumstances and will continue to praise Him no matter what it looks like. Thank Him that He knows the end from the beginning and that the plans He has for you are good ones. Ask Him to help you align your faith to His promises and give you a song that magnifies Him in your heart. Ask God to lead you to the Scriptures you can declare over your situation.

Continue to pray for the nation to experience revival and for righteousness to be established in our midst.
In the aftermath of the recent elections, pray for a smooth transition, healing and unity to work toward our national good, and protection for our elected officials, cities, borders and citizens. As it is written:

“I urge, then, first of all, that petitions, prayers, intercession and thanksgiving be made for all people; for kings and all those in authority, that we may live peaceful and quiet lives in all godliness and holiness. This is good, and pleases God our Savior, who wants all people to be saved and to come to a knowledge of the truth.” (1 Timothy 2:1‭-‬4)

74d70141c45f30d5223d184c22a36505

Let us pray ~

Loving Father; this is my prayer… that my love may abound more and more in all knowledge; depth of insight and in discerning Your will, so that I may be able to understand all that is best, and that which is pleasing in Your sight.
I pray that I may be pure and blameless in Your sight, until the day that Christ Himself comes to take us to be with Himself, but until that hour arrive, I ask that You keep me humble before You, so that I may be used to Your praise and glory. Lord I pray this not for me only, but for all my brothers and sisters that are called by Your name that together we may live in unity and godly peace with a heart of understanding, able to discern Your will and purpose. Thank You Father for Your great love for me and that You know my need and the paths that I will take in the future. Help me I pray to discern what my future needs are and not to confuse them with my own fleshly desires or the vanities of my heart. Give me true discernment I pray.
Lord my heart is open to Your leading and guidance and my desire is that I do only those things that are righteous in Your sight. For the sake of Your name I pray that I may be quite to listen to Your voice and slow to assume that I know Your will when it is my own fleshly thinking. Give me true discernment I pray to know your will and the willingness to be obedient.
Lord I know that Your ways are inscrutable and Your mind is unknowable and yet You have chosen to take up residence in my feeble body. I pray that I may be used of You to be a good and faithful witness in all I say and do, as my desire is to do Your will and not mine each day. Give me true discernment I pray and wise council. All this I pray in Jesus’ precious mighty name, Amen …

40703c4e3247ef7fabbe402ed290da39

Published by: A ~ Rambling ~ Zealot ~

Saved, sanctified, and filled with the Holy Ghost; a woman of God, whose life is devoted and surrendered to God. In essence, I am a Zealot for Jesus Christ. I am Your kindling my Lord ... lay me across Your alter; that Your fire may consume me and burn so brightly that all who see me may see YOU!!! And thereby You will be glorified .... May You be glorified in everything I say, do, or post ....

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

