Less Than Thankful?

troy-amdahl-focus-be-thankful-difficult-times-4e7a

“He who offers a sacrifice of praise and thanksgiving honors Me; And to him who orders his way rightly; who follows the way that I show him; I shall show the salvation of God.”
(Psalm 50:23)

What do you do when your life is going south? What do you do when it is “Thanksgiving” and you have just lost a loved one… or just lost your job… or just lost your marriage? Surely you cannot be expected to give thanks… can you?

Sometimes thanksgiving is a sacrifice.  Sometimes we must thank God through clenched teeth and choked back tears. However, thanksgiving in the midst of a terrible storm brings tremendous joy to His heart. It shows the Lord that we really trust Him… regardless of the adverse circumstances we are facing. And regardless of any struggle, hardship, or sorrow, there is still ALWAYS something to be grateful for and thankful for …..

unknown-author-always-thankful-2s7g

Perhaps you are one this year who is having trouble finding the good in your life. Perhaps just in previous weeks you’ve been walking in a storm with a broken umbrella. Well, look no further than Jesus. He never changes. Despite everything that you might be facing, you can rejoice in Him ….

You can give thanks for Him and His great love and concern for you: “Give all your worries and cares to God, for He cares about you.” (1 Peter 5:7)

maxresdefault

 

You can give thanks for His strengthening hand:
“Give your burdens to the Lord , and He will take care of you. He will not permit the godly to slip and fall.” (Psalms 55:22)

You can give thanks that He promised to work  ALL things together for your good:
“And we know that God causes everything to work together for the good of those who love God and are called according to his purpose for them.”
(Romans 8:28)

You can give thanks because you are alive and breathing. You could not draw a single breath if not for Him:
“For the life of every living thing is in His hand, and the breath of every human being.” (Job 12:10)

And most importantly, above all else; we must give thanks and the sacrifice of praise because of His own great sacrifice in giving His life up that anyone who will accept Him may live forever with Him in heaven. We are not doomed to eternal hell because He loved us so deeply and suffered so greatly. Is that alone not reason to be thankful in all circumstances?

“I will praise the name of God with a song, and will magnify Him with thanksgiving.”
(Psalms 69:30)

aca80be0535c08fa2941fcb3d6601db5

Train yourself to give thanks in EVERYTHING, and allow praises to flow continuously:
“I will bless the Lord at all times: His praise shall continually be in my mouth.” (Psalms 34:1)

psalm341

Remember… a sacrifice of thanksgiving brings honor to the Lord. Thank Him for that trial you are facing. Thank Him for that sorrow. He will use your thanks for His glory and your ultimate good ….

“Always be joyful. Never stop praying. Be thankful in ALL circumstances, for this is God’s will for you who belong to Christ Jesus.” (1 Thessalonians 5:16‭-‬18)

thanksgiving-always-logo

“Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank Him for all He has done. Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus.” (Philippians 4:6‭-‬7)

3eb28017f2a1d7c3a038346d36b9fff4

Let’s pray ~

Heavenly Father, thank You that You know all about me and that You even knew that one day I would accept the Lord Jesus Christ as my Lord and Saviour. Father I don’t understand this, but I do believe it because Your Word says that it is true, and that before the world began, You knew all about me and predestined me to be Your child in Christ. Father God, I am in awe of the incredible privileges and tremendous blessings that are mine, simply because I have trusted in Christ Jesus. You are amazing, and I praise and thank You for all Your goodness and loving-kindness to me.
I pray that I may live a godly life that is pleasing to You and that all I say and do may honour Your name, for it is such a privilege to be Your child and I want to serve You with my whole being. I ask that You would use me to tell forth the glorious gospel of grace to all whom You put into my path. Father so many are lost and weary, sad and sorrowing, discouraged and depressed, but I pray that many will come to faith in the Lord Jesus Christ and be adopted into Your family, and we will all sing of Your praises throughout eternity for the amazing grace that You have shown to so many. Thank You Father for adopting us into Your family and seating us together with Christ in heavenly places, in Whose name we pray, Amen ….

11a54dff5f58d96ad9a519d263bb8c0f

Published by: A ~ Rambling ~ Zealot ~

Saved, sanctified, and Spirit filled; I'm an on- fire, tongue-talkin' Holy Ghost dynamo! I am Your kindling my Lord ... lay me across Your alter; that Your fire may consume me and burn so brightly that all who see me may see YOU!!! .. May You be glorified in everything I say, do, or post ....

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

