Just Who Do You Think You Are?

identity.jpg

If you could use just a few words to describe who you are, what words would you choose?

Some people would say, “I’m my past. My bad choices hang over my life like a dark cloud.” Others would say, “I’m my performance. My parents raised me to think I had to be perfect, and I’m still trying.” And then others admit, “I’m my problems,” or simply revert to labels that they feel define them such as: “I’m alone,” or “I’m a loser.” or “I’m worthless”

But God describes you in a whole different way. We can read in (1 Peter 2:9) that God identifies you as: “a chosen generation, a royal priesthood, an holy nation, a peculiar people; that ye should shew forth the praises of Him who hath called you out of darkness into His marvellous light.” He goes on to say, “Which in time past were not a people, but are now the people of God: which had not obtained mercy, but now have obtained mercy.” (v 10).

Do you belong to God? If so, He calls you His own! Will you let that truth bind itself to your heart? Maybe you’ve never truly felt wanted by anyone. That is a deep ache that even I know too well. But listen: the Lord wants you! He chose to set His love upon you, and apart from that you would not know God. That word “possession” literally means “to make around.” It’s the idea that God enclosed you for Himself. He built a little jewelry box and put you in it. “This one is mine”…. It’s an awesome thing to think about, don’t you think?

Now, let this truth filter down into your identity. I know that words fall immensely short of the healing you may need from years of hurt, but let your new perspective begin here. Let this truth silence the messages of your past, your performance, your parents, or whatever it was that wounded you. You are who God says you are! And no amount of negative message will ever change that …

357ae7c

The purpose of believing what (1 Peter 2:9) says about you isn’t just to feel better about yourself. The reason follows immediately in the next phrase: “that ye should shew forth the praises of Him who hath called you out of darkness.” You were created and called to praise Him. The ESV says,”that you may proclaim His excellencies.” …..

Your goal in rejecting those false identities is so you can tell people how awesome God is, not so you can tell people how awesome you are. He’s “called you out of darkness into his marvelous light.” Live fully in the power of who God Himself has declared you to be. When you deem yourself unwanted, unworthy, unlovable, or live under the shadow of any of those awful labels that so many of us have lived with all of our lives; we deem our Lord as such as well, and that is to say that we then refuse to acknowledge our Creator as excellent in all that He has made or that He is somehow insufficient. God doesn’t make junk! He did not create you to be bowed down under the weight of any negative character label. Those are whispers of your enemy meant to keep you in a defeated mindset and therefore preventing you from entering into that marvellous light ….

confident-heart-week-4-who-i-am-kristy

Instead of allowing the devil to perform character assination upon you with those negative terms; turn it back on him and say to that old devil, “just who do you think you are?” and then proclaim God’s truth. Let the redeemed of the Lord say so!! God has changed your identity in His grace so you can proclaim to others the excellencies of His identity. Do it today. Your past does not define you. You are not who “he — she — or they” said you were. You are not who you “think” you are. You are exactly who HE says you are: cherished, loved, beautiful! The saying “Beauty is in the eyes of the beholder,” goes to say that defining beauty can be tough. However, God’s words can lead us to discover what our individual meaning of beauty truly is and should be; that is deter from looking at physical appearance for God looks at the heart in all people and things. As it says in (1 Peter 3:4), “you should clothe yourselves in the beauty that comes from within, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is so precious to God.” It says in (Song of Solomon 4:7), “Thou art all fair, my love; there is no spot in thee.” (KJV), and in the (NLT) version it says, “You are altogther beautiful my darling, beautiful in every way.”

4904174efda077934d84244083b75b2c

Therefore, again I ask you, “who do you think you are?”
How would you describe your identity? What false identities do you need to exchange for who God says you are? Remember: your idenity is found in Christ Jesus alone. Neither your idenity, beauty, or value is found in or through your job, your education, or your works. In Christ alone, I place my trust and in Him is where our value is found. You are His. Proclaim it today ….

ec12d9398042e33168eae0f25b0d4727

Let’s pray ~

Lord, there’s great security and rich assurance of identity found in 1 Peter 2:9 and I know that I belong to You. Please help me to see myself as You see me, and to live out the strength of that reality. I pray that as I rest in my true identity as Your child, that You would empower me to proclaim Your majesty and the excellencies of You Who called me out of darkness. Thank You for your marvelous light. Thank You for Your mercy and grace. I pray this in the redeeming name of Jesus, Amen …

58f8f656fe0ee7cbc9f9d8d7789ba84a
After a while you learn
the subtle difference between holding a hand and chaining a soul …
and you learn that love doesn’t mean leaning
and company doesn’t always mean security ….
And you begin to learn
that kisses aren’t contracts
and presents aren’t promises …
and you begin to accept your defeats with your head up and your eyes ahead,
with the grace of woman, not the grief of a child ….
and you learn to build all your roads on today,
because tomorrow’s ground is too uncertain for plans; and futures have a way of falling down in mid-flight ….
After a while you learn
that even sunshine burns
if you get too much,
so you plant your own garden and decorate your own soul instead of waiting for someone to bring you flowers ….
And you learn that you really can endure, you really are strong, and you really do have worth; and you learn… and you learn
with every goodbye, you learn ….

After A While
By Veronica A. Shoffstall

dbfa803d9902b2440825396823fcbf2a

Published by: A ~ Rambling ~ Zealot ~

Saved, sanctified, and filled with the Holy Ghost; a woman of God, whose life is devoted and surrendered to God. In essence, I am a Zealot for Jesus Christ. I am Your kindling my Lord ... lay me across Your alter; that Your fire may consume me and burn so brightly that all who see me may see YOU!!! And thereby You will be glorified .... May You be glorified in everything I say, do, or post ....

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

