The Word Stands

psalm-119_9

“I have revealed You to the ones You gave me from this world. They were always yours. You gave them to me, and they have kept Your word.” (John 17:6).

Could life really be as simple as keeping His Word?

Sometimes when our spiritual life doesn’t seem to be moving fast enough for us, or when it’s not going in the direction we want it to go; we can end up trying too hard to make it work. We can start exploring other options besides the simple faith of just keeping His Word ….

You’ll recognize when this is happening. Times when you’re feeling tired and spent, more than peaceful and contented. Times when you’re losing joy over one thing God hasn’t done for you yet, rather than rejoicing in all the awesome things He’s already accomplished. Times when your praying is characterized more by telling God how He should fix this situation, rather than by believing He’s fully aware of what your need is.

But when Jesus transitioned from praying for Himself in verses (1–5) of what’s commonly called His “high priestly prayer” (John 17), into praying for His disciples in (verse 6), He characterized them to the Father by saying, “They have kept your word.”

What a great summary of what Christians do! We keep His Word!! It’s what we as His followers are called to do. Simple, right?

But is it really what we do? If Jesus was giving a general accounting to the Father today of your life, and mine, would His report include what He said about His first disciples? Does this same basic requirement and privilege; steadfastly keeping His Word; accurately describe how you choose to respond to your daily challenges, questions, temptations, and responsibilities?

You’ll know God’s Word is the authority in your life when it can stop you in your tracks. You’ll know you’re someone who keeps His Word when, instead of heading down whatever mindless path your emotions or traditions are taking you, the Holy Ghost can suddenly remind you of Scripture. And as soon as you hear it, the truth of that Word causes you to reverse direction and do something other than what you were heading toward doing ….

“But the Comforter, which is the Holy Ghost, whom the Father will send in my name, He shall teach you all things, and bring all things to your remembrance, whatsoever I have said unto you.”
(John 14:26)

If God’s Word does not have this effect on you, you need to ask yourself what role it really plays in your life …..

If you love reading it, even studying it, but don’t do what it says, the Bible is only an affection for you ….
If you love having it around the house and on the coffee table for all to see, but you don’t do what it says, the Bible is only a decoration for you ….
If you believe you’re advancing God’s purposes by hearing the Word taught and proclaimed at church, but then you actually have no real intention of getting up from your seat to actually go do what it says, the Bible is actually a deception for you …..

“Be doers of the word,” James said, “and not hearers only, deceiving yourselves”(James 1:22).

Hear Jesus’ prayer to the Father again: “I have manifested Your name to the people whom You gave me out of the world. Yours they were, and you gave them to me, and they have kept your word.”
May He always be able to say the same of us ….

In closing, ponder one thing you would have done differently today or in the last couple of days if you’d been keeping God’s Word. Think about this: in the past, how has resisting the simplicity of obeying His Word resulted in adding undue complication to your life?

And yes, it is simple to obey. Once you live and breathe the Word; once you get to that place of insatiable hunger and thirst for more of Him; for more of the Word; it becomes simple to obey His Word and walk in His ways. The key is obedience and surrender. And all this is found through indwelling power of the Holy Ghost, which empowers you and enables you to follow and obey: “Ye shall receive power, after that the Holy Ghost is come upon you: and ye shall be witnesses unto me” (Acts 1:8).

I challenge you to seek this power through receiving the baptism of the Holy Ghost, with the evidence of speaking in tongues, which is a free gift from our Father. Your life will be transformed and never again be the same. This power is vital for the perilous times that are to come for us believers.

“The grass withers and the flowers fade, but the word of our God stands forever.”
(Isaiah 40:8).

1c57c5428a7eb21155cbe97935a6e70b

Let us pray ~

Father, I thank You for giving me Your Word as a guide and a light, as a revealer of truth about Yourself and this beautiful relationship that You’ve invited me into. By giving me Your Holy Spirit and Your Word; even when it seems the most hardest thing to do, You’ve made it simplest to keep by the power that You’ve placed within me. Not always easy, but simple, when I simply trust and obey. Father, I repent of those times when I become stubborn and strong willed, for I long to be the person that You desire me to be; the person who keeps Your Word– no matter what; whatever the cost, whatever the circumstances. Thank You for bringing it down to earth where I can see it, hear it, learn it, know it, do it, and then share it and be a witness to it in my life. Thank you for this beautiful life I now have in You today. In Jesus name I pray, Amen …..

“Blessed are the undefiled in the way, who walk in the law of the Lord. Blessed are they that keep His testimonies, and that seek Him with the whole heart. They also do no iniquity: they walk in His ways.
Thou hast commanded us to keep thy precepts diligently. O that my ways were directed to keep thy statutes! Then shall I not be ashamed, when I have respect unto all thy commandments.
I will praise thee with uprightness of heart, when I shall have learned thy righteous judgments.
I will keep thy statutes: O forsake me not utterly.
Wherewithal shall a young man cleanse his way? by taking heed thereto according to thy word. With my whole heart have I sought thee: O let me not wander from thy commandments. Thy word have I hid in mine heart, that I might not sin against thee. Blessed art thou, O Lord: teach me thy statutes.” (Psalms 119:1-12)

Published by: A ~ Rambling ~ Zealot ~

Saved, sanctified, and Spirit filled; I'm an on- fire, tongue-talkin' Holy Ghost dynamo! I am Your kindling my Lord ... lay me across Your alter; that Your fire may consume me and burn so brightly that all who see me may see YOU!!! .. May You be glorified in everything I say, do, or post ....

Categories UncategorizedLeave a comment

Leave a Reply

