Are You Listening?

558008_2_e9135b

“The message of the cross is foolish to those who are headed for destruction! But we who are being saved know it is the very power of God. As the Scriptures say, “I will destroy the wisdom of the wise and discard the intelligence of the intelligent.” So where does this leave the philosophers, the scholars, and the world’s brilliant debaters? God has made the wisdom of this world look foolish. Since God in His wisdom saw to it that the world would never know Him through human wisdom, He has used our foolish preaching to save those who believe. It is foolish to the Jews, who ask for signs from heaven. And it is foolish to the Greeks, who seek human wisdom. So when we preach that Christ was crucified, the Jews are offended and the Gentiles say it’s all nonsense. But to those called by God to salvation, both Jews and Gentiles, Christ is the power of God and the wisdom of God. This foolish plan of God is wiser than the wisest of human plans, and God’s weakness is stronger than the greatest of human strength. Remember, dear brothers and sisters, that few of you were wise in the world’s eyes or powerful or wealthy when God called you. Instead, God chose things the world considers foolish in order to shame those who think they are wise. And He chose things that are powerless to shame those who are powerful. God chose things despised by the world, things counted as nothing at all, and used them to bring to nothing what the world considers important. As a result, no one can ever boast in the presence of God.” (1 Corinthians 1:18‭-‬29) NLT
What are you going to do when God calls your name?

When He taps you on the shoulder and says, “Hey you, now’s the time”?

There was a kid in the bible who had the right idea. Let me introduce you to him ….

See, there was this prophet named Samuel, and God told him to go to Jesse’s house to appoint the next King of Israel. (1 Samuel 16) So, “Samuel did what the Lord instructed” (v.4)
By the way, that’s always a great way to start your day!

He traveled to Jesse’s house in Bethlehem and asked to see his sons. When they paraded by for inspection, Samuel was very impressed with the eldest right away. Eliab was tall, dark, and handsome.
Samuel took one look at Eliab and thought, “Surely this is the Lord ’s anointed!” But the Lord said to Samuel, “Don’t judge by his appearance or height, for I have rejected him. The Lord doesn’t see things the way you see them. People judge by outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart.” (vs.6‭-‬7)

Then Jesse called Abinadab and had him pass in front of Samuel. But Samuel said, “The Lord has not chosen this one either. Seven sons. Seven rejections. I’m sure Samuel was scratching his head about this time. Confused, he turned to Jesse and asked, “Is this all your sons?” Then, as if it were an after thought, Jesse mutters, “Oh yeah, I do have another son. I forgot all about him. His name is David–my youngest. He’s out taking care of the sheep.” Samuel then said, “Send for him; we will not sit down until he arrives.” (v.11).

And they didn’t take a knee, take a seat, or take a break. They stood and waited.
And in walks young David; a smelly, inexperienced, unqualified kid who was probably around thirteen years old…. Can you just picture that: this scrawny little boy would be the great King through whose lineage our Savior would come …. Then the Lord said, “Rise and anoint him; this is the one.” …..

So right there in the presence of his older, and no doubt incredulous brothers, Samuel anoints this boy to be the next king of Israel. David was the littlest. The very least. The loneliest. But in God’s eyes; David was Chosen …. Anointed …. Appointed ….

God chose David. And just like that, God has chosen YOU. Maybe not to be the next king of Israel, but He has chosen you to be His for a specific purpose ….
He is saying to you right now, “You are the one, my child!” And I can just hear someone saying, “what– little ol’ me?” ….. Yes indeed, little ol’ you!

Consider this: David was so insignificant to his own family; his father didn’t even bring him in the house when Samuel asked to see all of his sons. He was forgotten; merely a fore-thought. At least he could have invited him in to watch. And even though he was forgotten or at least ignored by his family, David was the very one that God chose for a great purpose and a wonderful plan. From that moment on, David was anointed by the power of the Holy Spirit for God’s purpose that was yet to unfold ….

I don’t know what your childhood was like; it could have been simply wonderful; full off rainbows and butterflies. Or it could have been very bad, as mine was, with chaos and unspeakables. Perhaps you felt insignificant or ignored by your parents or siblings. Perhaps you have even experienced rejection by your friends, classmates, or coworkers. But make no mistake about it ….

You Have Been Chosen

God has chosen you. Yes, You! As it is written: “Even before He made the world, God loved us and chose us in Christ to be holy and without fault in His eyes.” (Ephesians 1:4)

You Have Been Appointed

Not only has God chosen you to be His child, but He has appointed you to be an Ambassador of Christ (2 Corinthians 5:20) and bear fruit in His name. Jesus said, “You didn’t choose me. I chose you. I appointed you to go and produce lasting fruit, so that the Father will give you whatever you ask for, using my name.” (John 15:16).

You Have Been Anointed

And like David, you have been anointed, not with oil, but with the power of the Holy Ghost, which is His free gift and enpowers us to do everything God has called you to do …..

“He has commissioned us, and He has identified us as His own by placing the Holy Spirit in our hearts as the first installment that guarantees everything He has promised us.”
(2 Corinthians 1:21-22).

I don’t know what God has called you to do, but I do know it’s something good. Yeah, David had to go back out and take care of those smelling sheep for a while. But then one day, when he least expected it, God said, now’s the time. And you know what? David was ready ….

tumblr_nifowm4nv41sv3ls9o1_500

You might be taking care of a few sheep yourself; little sheep with pink hair bows or frogs in their pockets and dirty tennis shoes. But remember, you’ve been chosen, anointed and appointed to do great things! Whatever your past experiences; they DO NOT define you! They DO NOT determine your future or God’s ability to use you for His glory!!

Therefore, be brave …. live bold … know that you are precious, deeply valued, and so very cherished. Even every single hair on your head is numbered (Matthew 10:30) and that’s how intimately our Lord knows you and loves you …

tumblr_mz9nlziqea1r17noqo1_500

Perhaps you have been asking God to show you the next thing to do in your life, and you feel as if you just aren’t hearing anything. Well, I’m asking you today: is there something in your life that God has asked you to do, that you have not done? That is a question I want you to ponder and answer for yourself today. Perhaps He is waiting for you to obey what He’s already instructed you to do, before He shows you the next thing He wants you to do. Anything coming to mind? He has called ~ are you listening???

god-plan-for-you-quote

Let’s pray ~

Heavenly Father, if you call my name today, I will be ready. Even though I might be afraid, I will move forward in faith. Even though I may feel weak, I will step out in Your strength. Even though I may feel inadequate, I will take hold of Your sufficiency. Even though I may feel inferior, I will take hold of my true identity. Even though I may feel ugly, useless, or worthless, I will cling to Your Word and believe in my beauty and my value. Even though I may feel insecure, I will take hold of the truth that I am equipped by You, empowered by the Holy Ghost, and enveloped in Jesus Christ. In His Name I pray, Amen ….

you-are

Published by: A ~ Rambling ~ Zealot ~

Saved, sanctified, and filled with the Holy Ghost; a woman of God, whose life is devoted and surrendered to God. In essence, I am a Zealot for Jesus Christ. I am Your kindling my Lord ... lay me across Your alter; that Your fire may consume me and burn so brightly that all who see me may see YOU!!! And thereby You will be glorified .... May You be glorified in everything I say, do, or post ....

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

