Spirit vs. Flesh ~

not-flesh1

“Walk in the Spirit, and ye shall not fulfill the lust of the flesh.” (Galations 5:16)

Our flesh, or our sinful nature, is always fighting against our spiritual nature. While our spirit wants to do what is right in the Lord, our flesh wants to only please itself. This is why we can have the best of intentions and yet still fail. Our greatest spiritual battles isn’t always against Satan; rather, it’s putting our desires in second place to the Spirit’s desires. It’s not easy and even when we overcome one area, there’s always something else that seems to come up later ….

We can overcome jealousy and envy, but then struggle with overeating. We can finally get to the point of forgiving others, and then struggle with pride in our own hearts. We can learn obedience, and then get into complacency ….

Whatever our weakness in the flesh, we can’t let down our guard to keep our spiritual life with greater priority. How do we live Spirit over flesh every day? Well, let’s take a look ….

S – Seek God’s desires before our own desires ~

“But seek ye FIRST the kingdom of God, and His righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you.”
(Matthew 6:33)

P – Purpose in our hearts to honor God with our choices ~

And if it seem evil unto you to serve the Lord, choose you this day whom ye will serve; whether the gods which your fathers served that were on the other side of the flood, or the gods of the Amorites, in whose land ye dwell: but as for me and my house, we will serve the Lord.” (Joshua 24:15)

I – Intensely question our motives when we don’t know what to do ~

“Therefore judge nothing before the time, until the Lord come, who both will bring to light the hidden things of darkness, and will make manifest the counsels of the hearts: and then shall every man have praise of God.”
(1 Corinthians 4:5)

R – Remember that we are prone to weaknesses ~

“For all have sinned, and come short of the glory of God.” (Romans 3:23)

I – Inquire from God’s Word to overcome the weakness of our flesh ~

“These were more noble than those in Thessalonica, in that they received the word with all readiness of mind, and searched the scriptures daily, whether those things were so.”
(Acts 17:11)

T – Talk honestly with family and friends about our weaknesses ~

“Confess your faults one to another, and pray one for another, that ye may be healed. The effectual fervent prayer of a righteous man availeth much.” (James 5:16)

Living a spirit over flesh type of life is entirely possible if we are willing to make the sacrifice, and yes, become obedient. The Word says, “Hath the Lord as great delight in burnt offerings and sacrifices, as in obeying the voice of the Lord? Behold, to obey is better than sacrifice.”
(1 Samuel 15:22), and it follows in the very next verse, “for rebellion is as the sin of witchcraft, and stubbornness is as iniquity and idolatry.” (v. 23).

When we rebel and allow our flesh to dictate our needs, and remain stubbornly stuck in our flesh; we are in sin.
And as we learned yesterday; not only what sin was, but also that no sin may enter into the kingdom of heaven ….

However, as long as our spirit remains connected to God in our words, thoughts, and actions; we will see the fruit of real spiritual growth. The may require times of intense fasting and prayer to get to a place of maturity. However, if our flesh continues to dominate; we will find ourselves weak in the day of testing …..

Let’s pray ~

Dear Lord, I know that for some time my life has not been as it should have been. I have been going my own way and not growing in my spiritual life as I know I should. Forgive me, for I know that I have strayed far from the path that I should be following and have become carnal and worldly in so many ways; and Lord, I want to get back to a godly way of living and I know that I can’t do this in my own strength.

How I praise and thank You that You are my Father and I am Your child. I pray that Your Holy Spirit would search me and know me and work deep within my inner being to draw me into a closer and more meaningful fellowship with You, my Father, with each passing day.

May Your Holy Spirit work deep within my heart to refine me and make me more and more like the Lord Jesus Himself, that I may grow in my spiritual life; that the loveliness of the Lord Jesus and the beauty of His person may flow into me and be reflected in my life to His praise and glory.
You have granted us all that we need that pertains to godliness and righteousness. Please continue to multiply your grace and peace on all Your children and keep me I pray ever faithful to applying the truth of Your word in all I say or do…
I pray that my heart and soul may be consumed by You and that I may be diligent in studying the Scriptures so that I may apply its truth in every part of my life. I pray that not only my words and deeds are pleasing to You, but also the thoughts of my heart and the motives behind my thoughts are filtered through the Word of God only and tested by the indwelling Holy Spirit day by day. Take my life I pray and use it in whatever way You choose that I may live a life that is honouring to You in word and deed as well as action and attitude. All this I ask and pray in Jesus mighty name, Amen

feb373a2c196a9c2ec32b69943b049a4

Published by: A ~ Rambling ~ Zealot ~

Saved, sanctified, and filled with the Holy Ghost; a woman of God, whose life is devoted and surrendered to God. In essence, I am a Zealot for Jesus Christ. I am Your kindling my Lord ... lay me across Your alter; that Your fire may consume me and burn so brightly that all who see me may see YOU!!! And thereby You will be glorified .... May You be glorified in everything I say, do, or post ....

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

