What’s Your Goliath??

david_goliath_bible_hero_poster

“And all this assembly shall know that the Lord saveth not with sword and spear: for the battle is the Lord’s, and He will give you into our hands.”
(1 Samuel 17:47)

What’s your Goliath?
Well, very simply, a Goliath is anything that attempts to disrupt God’s purpose and plan for your life. The Goliath that David faced in (1 Samuel 17) flagrantly made his intention clear: to destroy God’s people. How did David defeat his Goliath? Let’s look ….

#1) He immediately recognized Goliath’s defiance was against God. (v. 26). Goliath challenged God’s ability to protect the Israelite army. Many times we need to recognize any attempt from our enemy to derail God’s reputation and bring in fear ….

#2) He pushed back the criticism of people. (v. 30)
David’s brother criticized him when he had the courage to call out the uncircumcised Philistine. We also may find ourselves under greater scrutiny when we step out in faith, but we must press on anyway by faith …..

#3) He stepped up when no one else had the courage. (v. 33). Even though David was just a boy and not a soldier, his confidence ignited King Saul’s belief. When our Goliath is staring down at us, we need to press forward in the vision in spite of other people’s fear ….

#4) He remembered how God had delivered him in the past. (v. 36). David’s past in dealing with threats increased his confidence in dealing with Goliath. Our “pre-Goliath” trials strengthen our resolve to never step down in God’s army. Through the power of the Holy Ghost we are made strong to be mighty warriors and no limit soldiers ….

#5) He took action and followed through against Goliath in faith. (v. 47).
David did more than just talk about fighting Goliath; he picked up his stones and faced the enemy. We can also pick up our spiritual weapons in faith and defeat the Goliaths that stand in our way. What are our spiritual weapons, you may ask? Read (Ephesians 6) …..

In closing; what is your Goliath today? Sometimes God allows our Goliaths to rise up in order for us to discover the David within us. However, those Goliaths can be conquered. Find your stone… It’s time to rise up. Remember: God is BIGGER! And His grace is sufficient!!

“Ye are of God, little children, and have overcome them: because greater is he that is in you, than he that is in the world.” (1 John 4:4)

Let us pray ~

Dear Lord, I have many Goliaths that I’m facing, and I need Your strength to follow through in faith.
I call on you today as a blood-bought child of God asking for Your help and protection in this time of spiritual attack. I believe that Jesus died for my sins and that through His death and resurrection; sin, death and Satan are at once and forever defeated and by faith I know and believe in Christ Jesus my Lord, I have victory over all the powers of darkness that would seek to spiritually shipwreck my trust and faith in Jesus Christ my Saviour.
Lord as I stand before you, I know that I am united in Christ and that there is nothing that I should fear. I know that Satan has a hatred of all those that are called by Your name, and that he schemes and plots against those that are positioned in Christ. Deliver me, I pray, from the dangers and evils with which the forces of evil would seek to ensnare me, and keep me I pray from all forms of temptation, so that I do not give the devil a foot-hold in my life.
Thank You for the spiritual armour with which I can clothe myself daily and keep me alert to the devil’s schemes and strengthen me by the power of the indwelling Holy Ghost that I may resist all his advances against me in the power and strength of the Holy Spirit. All this I ask in the name of the Lord Jesus, Who died and rose again so that Satan’s power over my life would be forever severed – and in Whose name I pray, Amen ….

Published by: A ~ Rambling ~ Zealot ~

Saved, sanctified, and Spirit filled; I'm an on- fire, tongue-talkin' Holy Ghost dynamo! I am Your kindling my Lord ... lay me across Your alter; that Your fire may consume me and burn so brightly that all who see me may see YOU!!! .. May You be glorified in everything I say, do, or post ....

Categories UncategorizedLeave a comment

Leave a Reply

