It’s All About Choices ~

choose-god-slideshow

“And ye shall seek me, and find me, when ye shall search for me with all your heart. And I will be found of you, saith the Lord.”
(Jeremiah 29:13-14)

The most important choice you will ever make in your life is to choose God. Think about it; to choose to connect with the God who made you, and me and everything in this twisted universe; and not that He made it twisted — He did not. He made it perfect, and we snarled it up with bad choices. But we can still have most of what we have lost just by choosing God again, on His terms ….

To some people; God is just some vague, foggy notion. Have you bought into that idea that either you believe in God or you don’t and that nothing can alter your current condition? Maybe you’ve thought, “I have never had faith, not genuine faith; not like my mother/father/sister/friend” ….
Or perhaps you are that person who’s drawn to a bit of the blind faith in a crisis: “Oh God, save me from that truck that just swerved into my lane”… and then He does, and the feeling passes, and that spark of faith fades into numbness right along with it ….
Has this been your experience? Crisis faith for a fleeting moment, and then nothing??

Perhaps you suspect that the faith-in-God thing is a trait you’re born with (or without), like blue eyes, brown hair, or a family membership at the country club. Have you concluded that belief is a characteristic you may or may not have, and that’s out of your control? I tell you, God is most assuredly someone you choose, and choosing Him makes all the difference. Choosing God is less like the options on a new car and more like selecting a person to marry. It’s about a life-long commitment. Faith is for people who want it and are willing to go for it with passion. In fact, God only shows up for people who are looking, and He chooses to reveal Himself exclusively to people who really want to know Him. “You will seek me and find me, when you seek me with all your heart. I will be found by you, declares the LORD.”

Did you get that? With all of your heart! This is the greatest commandment:
“Thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind.” (Matthew 22:37). And God advertises! “The heavens declare the glory of God; and the firmament sheweth His handywork. Day unto day uttereth speech, and night unto night sheweth knowledge.” (Psalm 19:1-2). God’s Word and God’s world are full of advertisements about Him, but as with even the best-marketed product, you still have to “choose” what God is offering. You have to seek to find …..

Yes, you can choose God. Don’t let some stale seminarian talk you out of it. We’ve all heard the well-worn argument that we don’t choose God — but that He chooses us. So which is true: do we choose God, or does He choose us? Actually it’s both. He has called us and chosen us from birth for a predestined purpose, however, God is a gentleman and will not force Himself upon anyone. There’s that little thing called free-will ….

There’s little point in arguing over who chooses first. Let’s just go at this from the only angle we actually experience: our own. We choose God. That’s the way it feels, and that’s the way it functions, and until you climb out of your armchair or descend from your ivory tower and “choose” God for your own life, you will always be missing the main ingredient for human happiness ….

Of course God is completely in charge. But let’s not use His original choice as an excuse for human apathy. We must not lose our sense of responsibility in the ocean of God’s sovereignty. When God planted our ancestors in the Garden of Eden, He gave them the capacity to make significant choices. Adam and Eve got to choose names for the animals, and pick which of a wild assortment of fruit to eat, save one. The rest, as they say, is history. Constant choices, yes, it’s all about choices …..

dfbab10548e5812ac3c5ef22eba05e75

 

So what will you choose? Will you “choose” to believe with your whole heart that there is a God who knows you perfectly, yet loves you unconditionally? You can put your whole weight down on God’s love as your solidarity of who you are, who you belong to, and what you can achieve, and you can know that there is no height nor depth to God’s love for you. It is unfathomable …..

“But as it is written, Eye hath not seen, nor ear heard, neither have entered into the heart of man, the things which God hath prepared for them that love Him.” (1 Corinthians 2:9)

In closing, where do you find yourself at this moment: clueless about God, wondering, interested, hesitant, or ready to choose His love, whether for the first time or yet again? Choosing the God who loves you is the foundation of your identity. It’s who you are and all you could ever hope to be. God loves you so much. Won’t you choose to seek Him today and renew your commitment with Him ….

“I love them that love me; and those that seek me early shall find me.” (Proverbs 8:17)

“In the day when I cried thou answeredst me, and strengthenedst me with strength in my soul.”
(Psalms 138:3)

“I call heaven and earth to record this day against you, that I have set before you life and death, blessing and cursing: therefore choose life, that both thou and thy seed may live: That thou mayest love the Lord thy God, and that thou mayest obey His voice, and that thou mayest cleave unto Him: for He is thy life, and the length of thy days: that thou mayest dwell in the land which the Lord sware unto thy fathers, to Abraham, to Isaac, and to Jacob, to give them.”
(Deuteronomy 30:19-20)

deut-30-19-b-500x500

Let Us Pray ~

Father God; I thank You for Your love. I thank You that You love me with an everlasting love. I thank You that You are the God of the universe; Who doesn’t need me, Who is not diminished by my absence or increased by my presence, Who is whole and complete in Himself; yet Who has chosen to set His love upon me. I respond to Your choice with a choice of my own:
I choose to believe in You; to believe there is a God who loves me, and that settles my eternity and my identity. I choose to believe Your Word as the only truth that will change me and set me upon the path to the journey that You have called me to. And above all, I choose to receive Your beloved Son, Jesus Christ as my Lord and Saviour. To carry my cross for Him and obey Him at all costs. I choose eternal life, and I choose to surrender all that I have and all that I am to follow Him, forsaking all others, and place Him first in every thing that I do.
I give You all the glory. In Jesus name I pray, Amen …

God is with us …..

c974faa0cb9028465115bba978bb8dfd

Published by: A ~ Rambling ~ Zealot ~

Saved, sanctified, and Spirit filled; I'm an on- fire, tongue-talkin' Holy Ghost dynamo! I am Your kindling my Lord ... lay me across Your alter; that Your fire may consume me and burn so brightly that all who see me may see YOU!!! .. May You be glorified in everything I say, do, or post ....

Categories UncategorizedLeave a comment

Leave a Reply

