More Than Enough ~

2-corinthians-12_9

“And He said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.”
(2 Corinthians 12:9)

When we study Scripture, we don’t want to get buried in the details of the Hebrew and Greek texts so that we miss the meaning. But every now and then, a little nuance in the original language changes everything. We see in (2 Corinthians 12:9), the word order in the original Greek provides us with a lightning insight we don’t want to miss. In English the verse reads, “My grace is sufficient for you”  Yet, in the original Greek, the verse reads, “Sufficient for you is the grace of Me.” Notice the subtle difference. Essentially the Lord told the Apostle Paul, “I AM the grace.” He didn’t say, “I send you grace.”

“I Am the grace” ….

God does not dispense grace the way a pharmacist fills a prescription: “Here, take two of these, and call me in the morning.” He is the grace. He is the strength. His presence IS the power. All we need comes through intimacy with Him. No matter what we face, He is the complete answer. “Sufficient for you is the grace of Me,” ~ this He promises. He doesn’t hand us what we need and then go somewhere else, off to solve someone else’s life crisis. He comes to stay. He promises, “I am with you alway, even unto the end of the world. Amen.” (Matthew 28:20).

Here’s how that plays out in your life: perfectly and powerfully. “For my power is made perfect in weakness,” God explained to Paul, and to us. “Perfect” means: fulfilled, accomplished, completed, finished. It’s the same as Jesus’ final word on the cross: “It is finished”(John 19:30).

God brings Himself to the relationship, and all of His sufficient, powerful grace; all we need bring is weakness. And all of this is grace, because we can never do anything to deserve or to earn what He does for us ….

God’s grace is completed in your weakness. And until you realize you’re weak and you recognize your need for a Savior, and the need for His grace, you can never fully experience it. Even that understanding of your own need is a gift of grace. The perfect power of Jesus’ grace can’t be fully realized until weakness is rightfully acknowledged. The moment when you’re overwhelmed by your absolute helplessness is the moment you are ready to hear Jesus say, “Sufficient for you is the grace of Me.” In other words, He is telling you today, “I am all you need.”

If you want to live by God’s sufficient grace, you won’t catch it falling from the sky as you rush off to your next task. You won’t receive it as your mind drifts off to your plan for how to solve your own problems. You won’t get your dose in the drive-thru line at the spiritual pharmacy …..

Because He IS the grace, and therefore you need Him. He will go with you every step of the way. He is a faithful friend; always with you, never to leave or abandon you ….
When a trial threatens to overwhelm you, when you feel a keen sense of your own weakness and insufficiency, remember His promise: “Sufficient for you is the grace of Me.”

16 - 1 (1)

He is EVERYTHING and ALL that you will ever need.
However, the perfect power of Jesus’ grace can’t be fully realized until weakness is rightfully acknowledged. Today, ponder in what ways you are weak, or how you might have experienced that to be true. Surrender to Him and allow His grace to cover you and strengthen you ….

Let us pray ~

Father God; what an amazing thought that Your grace is not separate from You, or that I cannot experience Your grace without experiencing You.
Your Word says to me that You deliver Your grace personally, and that Your constant presence in my life is proof of Your grace.
I acknowledge my weakness before You now. I know I am weak and that I need you. I am insufficient and without You I can do nothing (John 15:5) and I am nothing. However, You are sufficient, perfect, and powerful. By faith, I believe that no matter what I face, Your grace is sufficient to sustain me and see me through. And not just enough or barely enough but completely enough. More than enough. Thank You for spending time with me. Thank You for Your strength, and for the intimacy that You share with me. I thank You for Your grace. In Jesus’ name I pray, Amen ….

16 - 1 (2)

Published by: A ~ Rambling ~ Zealot ~

Saved, sanctified, and Spirit filled; I'm an on- fire, tongue-talkin' Holy Ghost dynamo! I am Your kindling my Lord ... lay me across Your alter; that Your fire may consume me and burn so brightly that all who see me may see YOU!!! .. May You be glorified in everything I say, do, or post ....

Categories Uncategorized2 Comments

2 thoughts on “More Than Enough ~”

  1. I love the literal Greek “Sufficient for you is the grace of Me.”. It changes the whole understanding of that scripture passage and as I’ve sought the Lord for understanding of this subject of Paul’s through the years, I’ve seen that the point that the Lord is trying to get across to Paul was that he didn’t need the thorn to be removed because he had the power to overcome it resident within him through his relationship with Jesus. We don’t have to lie down and receive everything the devil sends our way thinking it is God’s will when He has given us that same power resident within us, Grace, Jesus Christ, and through Him we can overcome! Thank you for so adeptly bringing that out in your blog!

    Blessings!
    Avanell

    Like

    1. Amen. Glory to God. I too, carry a thorn, but I find His grace ever sufficient even on my worst days. I love this scripture because it is a promise to cling to when we feel defeated or weak and the struggles are hard. We may never understand or know why God allows certain thinags to happen or persist, but one thing is for certain: He is bigger and therefore is His strength and power, and He will sustain and carry us through those struggles. God bless you sis…

      Like

Leave a Reply

