Our Gardens ~

20160826_093314

One of my homeless ladies came this morning and asked me, “why are you always messing with those flowers every time I come?”

I replied to her, “I’m not messing with them, I’m tending to them.” ……

I explained to her that you must tend to flowers or a garden daily; pruning it by removing the dead or yellowed flowers and dry brittle stems in order for the new flowers and buds to receive more life and nutrients from the vine. She actually seemed interested and listened as I rambled on about flowers ….

In essence and just the same, our lives are as such. We must daily tend to our spiritual garden; and prune or remove the dead things from our lives that serve us no purpose and would take away from the life giving things that we need ….

Jesus said,  “I am the true vine, and my Father is the husbandman. Every branch in me that beareth not fruit He taketh away: and every branch that beareth fruit, He purgeth it, that it may bring forth more fruit.” (John 15:1-2)

How is this purging done, you may ask?

Very simply by daily prayer, and study of God’s Word. When we meditate on the Word every day, we receive the life-giving nutrients needed to sustain us through that day, and we do this on a daily basis each day, as all we need to focus on is this day that we are given. Tomorrow has not come and no one is promised a tomorrow ….

The bible says, “Attend to my words; incline thine ear unto my sayings.
Let them not depart from thine eyes; keep them in the midst of thine heart.
For they are life unto those that find them, and health to all their flesh.”
(Proverbs 4:20-22)

As we seek God every morning, which we should be doing first and foremost before we begin our day; we pray for that purging to be done in us. We ask that He examine us, as David prayed: “Examine me, O LORD, and prove me; try my reins and my heart.” (Psalm 26:2) and then follow through with a prayer that He reveal to us if there be any thing within our hearts that be displeasing to Him and ask Him to remove it …

“Search me, O God, and know my heart: try me, and know my thoughts:
And see if there be any wicked way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.” (Psalm 139:23)

Just as flowers and every living thing needs water, nutients and sunshine to grow and flourish; so we also must have the light of the Son warming our hearts with passion and conviction.
And we must tend to the gardens of our hearts with daily maintenance of prayer, and study of the Word (2 Timothy 2:15) ….

We must prune daily to remove the weeds and be careful not to water those. As I watered this morning, I noticed the small pile of weeds I had pulled, and I thought to myself, you could water those too as if they were plants. And then I realized something very strong in my spirit that came to mind. Don’t water weeds, water the plants in your life. The Lord just dropped that right into my spirit ….

Weeds aren’t just vegetation in the natural, but there are spiritual “weeds” we have to look out for like: doubts, fears and negativity that can hinder us in our spiritual growth. The enemy loves for us to water these weeds and neglect watering the plants in our spiritual garden such as faith, joy, peace, and the other many blessed attributes in Christ found in (Galations 5:22-23), which are the fruit of the Spirit ….

If we aren’t careful to stop watering the weeds in our lives that we all have, it can choke out the plants God wants to grow in us, therefore, today my prayer is that we start watering plants and leave weeds behind to die …..

“This book of the law shall not depart out of thy mouth; but thou shalt meditate therein day and night, that thou mayest observe to do according to all that is written therein: for then thou shalt make thy way prosperous, and then thou shalt have good success.” (Joshua 1:8)

“Abide in me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit of itself, except it abide in the vine; no more can ye, except ye abide in me. I am the vine, ye are the branches: He that abideth in me, and I in him, the same bringeth forth much fruit: for without me ye can do nothing.” (John 15:4-5)

Grace In The Garden

 

Published by: A ~ Rambling ~ Zealot ~

Saved, sanctified, and Spirit filled; I'm an on- fire, tongue-talkin' Holy Ghost dynamo! I am Your kindling my Lord ... lay me across Your alter; that Your fire may consume me and burn so brightly that all who see me may see YOU!!! .. May You be glorified in everything I say, do, or post ....

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

