What If….??

what-if

“For the Word of the Lord is right; and all His works are done in truth.” (Psalm 33:4)

Some people just seem happy and positive all the time. They appear to never worry and fret. These people act like they eat rainbows for breakfast and ride unicorns to work. But life isn’t always all rainbows and butterfly’s, and certainly not lucky charms …

Truthfully, sometimes it’s just plain hard. Many of us anticipate trials, because Jesus promised some troubles. “In the world ye shall have tribulation” He warned, “but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world.” (John 16:33).

So what if the worst thing you can imagine does happen? What then?

What if my child gets sick?
What if my husband does leave? What if I lose my job? What if I get on a plane to go to a speaking engagement and the plane crashes?

Well, I decided a long time ago, when and if I ever get on a plane, I’m either going to get where I’m headed, or I’m going to get to heaven. Either one is all right with me. I know that whatever may happen in this life, God’s still on His throne, and He’s always in control of everything that happens.

Look at it this way; worry is a down payment on a problem that you may never have …. but sometimes you do have a problem. Sometimes the sinkhole is worse than you ever imaged. But here’s what you can always grab hold of when you feel as if you’re being sucked down: God will be right smack dab in the middle of your sinkhole even if your worst “what if” does occur ….

What is your greatest fear? What worries threaten to hold you hostage?
Perhaps you’ve already experienced your greatest fear. Maybe you have lost a child, gone through a divorce, or they’ve foreclosed on your home. Perhaps you’ve already suffered the loss of a body part, gone through chemo or radiation, filed for bankruptcy, have been homeless, or lost your job.

If you have already experienced your greatest fears, then oddly enough, you have an advantage over those who haven’t. “But for the grace of God go I” …
Perhaps you’ve seen that God does give you the strength to get through your most horrendous seasons imaginable. You’ve come out on the other side and realized that by the grace of God you’ve made it …. You’ve discovered that you’re stronger than you thought you were. And hopefully, you have realized that you aren’t a victim, but a survivor; and through Him and with Him you shall be a Warrior ….

None of us would choose to experience the horrific losses or painful situations that are part of living this side of heaven. Sadly, some have, but some treasures can only be discovered in dark places. Some that are blind see the most. One such treasure unearthed by those on the other side of their worst “what ifs” is the knowledge of God’s sustaining power that got them though and held them up; that gave them the power to move on despite the losses and live bold despite the pain. That enabled them to overcome the guilt, shame, despair or sorrow and become strong powerful witnesses of His restoration and redemption processes ….

The blunt radical truth is, the worst “what if” that could ever occur already has; what if someone killed the Son of God? What if they forced a crown of piercing thorns on His head, thrashed a flesh-tearing whip embedded with sharp objects across His back, spat in His face, beat Him with fists, nailed His feet and hands to a splintery cross with with huge spikes? What if they plunged a sword into His side? What if they murdered Jesus? What if that happened? What if we were all eternally doomed to die and burn endlessly forever and ever ?

Oh, friend, it is with tears in my eyes that I type those words. But there’s more to the story. Surly, you know the rest ….

Death was not the end of the story. It never is. Three days later God rolled the stone away from the mouth of the cave in which Jesus was buried, and Hope walked out in newness of life — resurrection life.

Because of the death, resurrection, and ascension of Jesus Christ; because of the power of the Holy Ghost, who can now live and dwell within us, we no longer have to buckle under the spirit of fear or go weak-kneed due to worry. We can live bold knowing that God empowers and equips us to do everything He has called us to do. We can refuse to bury our dreams in shallow graves of fear; but instead live in bold obedience expecting only the best. We now can have hope and the assurance of everlasting life with Jesus and our Heavenly Father in Heaven, because He willingly suffered as He did for You that Your name may be written in the book of Life. Therefore what fear, what worry, what concerns should you or I have about any possible “what-ifs” whatsoever; unless it would be: what-if you’re not in the book ????

“But now thus saith the Lord that created thee, O Jacob, and He that formed thee, O Israel, Fear not: for I have redeemed thee, I have called thee by thy name; thou art mine. When thou passest through the waters, I will be with thee; and through the rivers, they shall not overflow thee: when thou walkest through the fire, thou shalt not be burned; neither shall the flame kindle upon thee.
For I am the Lord thy God, the Holy One of Israel, thy Saviour.” (Isaiah 43:1-3)

Heavenly Father, I confess that I often worry about things, and like so many others, I find that I often fret unnecessarily, about things that are happening in my life, or that may happen …..
I ask for Your forgiveness and pray that You would help me to change my heart, so that my worry changes to trust, and any fretfulness is replaced with Your peace and assurance.

I truly want to believe Your Word, knowing that in so many places in Scripture we are reminded not to fear, but to cast all our worries and concerns on You alone; and Lord that is the desire of my heart. Please change my heart from one that is fretful to one that depends entirely on You for all things.
I pray that Your love and grace would flood my inner soul, and that fears and fretfulness would evaporate like the mist of the morning as I steady my gaze on the Lord Jesus and place my trust in Your unfailing grace. Help me to seek You first in all things and trust in Your unfailing promises, in Jesus name I pray, Amen ….

realgod

Published by: A ~ Rambling ~ Zealot ~

Saved, sanctified, and Spirit filled; I'm an on- fire, tongue-talkin' Holy Ghost dynamo! I am Your kindling my Lord ... lay me across Your alter; that Your fire may consume me and burn so brightly that all who see me may see YOU!!! .. May You be glorified in everything I say, do, or post ....

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

