The Power of Patience ~

b29c88134900da3a1899475dc5576fb3

(Hebrews 6:9-15)

Picture yourself waiting in a checkout line that hasn’t moved for ten minutes. Many of us would feel frustrated. We live in a generation that expects instant results ….. a fast world, with fast food, fast cars, fast women, and attitudes of “I want what I want when I want it” …..

Everyone struggles with some degree of impatience. We’re born with this trait ~ think about a three-month-old who wants milk in the middle of the night. The inborn reaction is to fuss at the first hint of discomfort and to keep at it until the need is met. Patterns from our old “flesh” nature make this a continual battle for most people, but one that is very worthwhile to fight. And fight we can, for we are more than conquerors ….

Let’s consider the biblical definition of patience. It can mean both longsuffering and perseverance, or not giving up and yielding under pressure. In either case, it reveals itself when we are willing to wait without frustration while suffering or experiencing some strong desire. In other words, we accept difficult situations without giving God deadlines. What’s more, patience means accepting what the Lord gives, on His timetable ~ or whatever He chooses not to give. This quality results in inner peace and lack of stress. Meanwhile, we should pray, obey, and persist as we seek God’s direction ….

The danger of impatience is that we might miss the Lord’s perfect plan and His blessing. Only when we trust our Father’s will and timing can we rest peacefully.

What causes you stress? Carefully examine whether you are taking matters into your own hands or releasing the circumstance to almighty God. Listen to (Psalm 37:7), which says, “Rest in the Lord and wait patiently for Him.” Seek His way and His timing. Anything else can be destructive …..

Loving heavenly Father, help me I pray to be still in Your presence and to wait patiently for You to act in my life — rather than fervently praying that You will sort out my problems in my time and expecting You to act in my way.

When I am beset with evil doers or when situations in my life cause me to become frustrated and impatient .… or when trials and sufferings knock at my door — help me I pray to wait for You to act in Your own time and in Your unique way, knowing that suffering in this life produces perseverance, endurance and patience – and patience develops the strength of character that You desire in each of Your children, and character helps us to build up a loving, trusting faith and confidence in You.

Keep me lowly before Your throne of grace and when difficulties arise in my life, enable me to persevere, by Your grace … so that I may grow in the patience that so honors Your name.

Thank You Lord, for the lessons that You are teaching me and may I develop a teachable spirit – to Your praise and glory. Amen

Published by: A ~ Rambling ~ Zealot ~

Saved, sanctified, and filled with the Holy Ghost; a woman of God, whose life is devoted and surrendered to God. In essence, I am a Zealot for Jesus Christ. I am Your kindling my Lord ... lay me across Your alter; that Your fire may consume me and burn so brightly that all who see me may see YOU!!! And thereby You will be glorified .... May You be glorified in everything I say, do, or post ....

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

