Are You Drifting??

1498-slide1-600

“Therefore we ought to give the more earnest heed to the things which we have heard, lest at any time we should let them slip. For if the word spoken by angels was stedfast, and every transgression and disobedience received a just recompence of reward; how shall we escape, if we neglect so great salvation; which at the first began to be spoken by the Lord, and was confirmed unto us by them that heard Him.”
(Hebrews 2:1-3)

IMG_1772

Regularly gathering in the house of the Lord with brothers and sisters in Christ provides an “anchor” of support and accountability. The fellowship is for the encouragement and edifying of the saints to provide strength as well, which is why we’re told not to forsake it ~
“Not forsaking the assembling of ourselves together, as the manner of some is; but exhorting one another: and so much the more, as ye see the day approaching.” (Hebrews 10:25).

a59bbb6879614a78a9bf45ca61ebb7e7

But skipping church in order to pursue other interests is an obvious sign that a believer has begun to drift away from God. Less apparent are the men and women who mentally skip the worship service, that is to say those “pew warmers” who bring their bodies, yet their minds are far removed. Unfortunately, with today’s advanced technology, the cell phones and tablets which many proclaim to use as their “bibles” are only tools used to scroll social media during service. Jesus had a name — hypocrites — “This people draweth nigh unto me with their mouth, and honoureth me with their lips; but their heart is far from me.” (Matthew 15:8).

The act of attending means nothing unless we make a deliberate decision to receive God’s Word and apply it to our life. As the writer of Hebrews warned, if we do not pay attention to what we have heard, we will drift away from it (v.1).

However, Sunday morning is not the only time for receiving a steady diet of nourishing principles and encouragement from the Bible. We should be in its pages every single day, reading and meditating for ourselves, “studying to show ourselves approved that we may rightly divide the Word of God” (2 Timothy 2:15).

As believers, we should each have a growing hunger burning within us to have more, know more, and grow more, a desire to be more intimately connected with our Redeemer …..

“He that saith he abideth in Him ought himself also so to walk, even as He walked.” (1 John 2:6).

16 - 1

When our interest in what God has to say decreases, we’re already slipping out into troublesome waters. The only way to keep our way pure is by following His Word ~ “Wherewithal shall a young man cleanse his way? by taking heed thereto according to thy Word.” (Psalm 119:9). And the very next verse tells us how: “With my whole heart have I sought thee” (v.10).

If Bible reading is neglected, a prayer life has usually faded as well. Prayer is the way believers communicate with our Lord. If we stop talking with Him, the God who once seemed so close, soon feels far away. That chasm in our spirit is one more sign that we’re far from shore and safety …..

“If thou wilt return, O Israel, saith the Lord, return unto me: and if thou wilt put away thine abominations out of my sight, then shalt thou not remove.”
(Jeremiah 4:1)

“But if ye turn unto me, and keep my commandments, and do them; though there were of you cast out unto the uttermost part of the heaven, yet will I gather them from thence, and will bring them unto the place that I have chosen to set my name there.”
(Nehemiah 1:9)

Are you beginning to drift? The Lord is calling to someone this morning …..
Thus saith the Lord: “return unto me, come nigh and do not draw away” ….

come-unto-me

“Now the just shall live by faith: but if any man draw back, my soul shall have no pleasure in him. But we are not of them who draw back unto perdition; but of them that believe to the saving of the soul.” (Hebrews 10:38-39)

“Wherefore we receiving a kingdom which cannot be moved, let us have grace, whereby we may serve God acceptably with reverence and godly fear: for our God is a consuming fire.”
(Hebrews 12:28-29)

Let us pray ~

Heavenly Father, we are called to abide in Christ, to rest in His love, to remain connected with the Lord Jesus and to depend upon Him in all things; knowing that He alone is the true and living Vine so that our lives might bear much fruit and ultimately glorify our Father in heaven.

I pray that by the power of Your Holy Spirit I may remain firmly connected to Christ and willingly submit to Your perfect pruning knife, so that any part in me that is not of Christ, may be trimmed away. Help me so that I may be enabled to grow in grace and mature in my Christian walk.

Root out any bad attitude, foolish thoughts or wrong motives that may start to formulate in my mind; and anything which may hinder my growth or infect my spiritual life. Help me Lord Jesus, I pray, to take every thought captive ~ that I may become a fruitful branch and draw others unto You, to the glory of God the Father. In the holy name of Jesus, I pray, Amen ~

Flames of the Heart-1

Published by: A ~ Rambling ~ Zealot ~

Saved, sanctified, and filled with the Holy Ghost; a woman of God, whose life is devoted and surrendered to God. In essence, I am a Zealot for Jesus Christ. I am Your kindling my Lord ... lay me across Your alter; that Your fire may consume me and burn so brightly that all who see me may see YOU!!! And thereby You will be glorified .... May You be glorified in everything I say, do, or post ....

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

