Has Your Brook Dried Up??

2144-slide1-600

“And it came to pass after a while, that the brook dried up, because there had been no rain in the land.”  (1 Kings 17:7)

first_book_of_kings_chapter_17-2_bible_illustrations_by_sweet_media

Elijah depended on God to provide food and water during the 3 1/2-year famine. Living out in the wilderness, he would’ve died without God’s intervention. When the brook dried up, he could have stayed and waited for it to run with water again or he could move forward in his faith journey. Elijah chose to listen and obey God’s command to stay with the widow ….

Every believer will, at some point, at some time, experience their brook trickling down or drying up. It could be a relationship breakup, a job loss, a failed exam, the loss of an income, or anything that we once believed and trusted would always be there and now is gone. It’s gone, and we are left with little to nothing to show for our time and energy. When our brook dries up, we are faced with the same choice as Elijah: sit and brood about what we’ve lost or move forward with the next journey of our lives …. What do we do?

When our brook dries up, there’s an opportunity for our faith to be stretched in the Lord. He loves us too much to let us remain the same. However painful the journey, if we place all of our trust in the Lord, He will make us stronger in the faith …

It is usually at that point when our brook dries up, that we will realize that God is truly all that we need. People will let us down, systems will fail, jobs come and go; but God is always there to encourage and strengthen our hearts. We were never created to depend on people, or place our trust in them or the things that the world has to offer us; we must very simply trust in the Lord at ALL times and in EVERY circumstance we should face ….

“The young lions do lack, and suffer hunger: but they that seek the Lord shall not want any good thing.”
(Psalm 34:10)

psalm 34v10

When our brook dries up, or even begins to trickle; we begin to look more like Jesus than at any other time in our lives. We can suffer — yet still praise God. We can lose — but still gain so much more in spiritual growth. We can be disappointed or discouraged — but still push forward in this Christian journey.

Psalm 18

“In my distress I called upon the Lord, and cried unto my God: He heard my voice out of His temple, and my cry came before Him, even into His ears.”
(Psalm 18:6)

“In my distress”….. what is stressing you out today? Did you see the glorious promise this is and how much strength there is to hold onto this?? From His temple, from heaven above, “He heard my voice” …. He hears us! Praise God He hears us!! And He sees us too! He knows what we are struggling with ….

“The eyes of the Lord are upon the righteous, and his ears are open unto their cry.” (Psalm 34:15)

198755_537037816321623_754215802_n

Cry out to Him today if your brook is trickling down. Is your cabinets looking sparse? Your wallet nearly empty? Perhaps you’re facing the struggles of surmounting health issues, or you have an unsaved spouse, loved one, or a wayward child you’re fretting over …..

“The righteous cry, and the Lord heareth, and delivereth them out of ALL their troubles. The Lord is nigh unto them that are of a broken heart; and saveth such as be of a contrite spirit. Many are the afflictions of the righteous: but the Lord delivereth him out of them ALL.”
(Psalm 34:17-19)

psalm34_17

“He delivereth me from mine enemies: yea, thou liftest me up above those that rise up against me: thou hast delivered me from the violent man.”
(Psalm 18:48)

psalm-18-6

In closing, read (Psalm 18) today. It shall be an encouragement to your soul. Then read (Psalm 34) and find your strength and nourishment. Make time, not excuses. Trust the Lord, your Redeemer …. He will never leave you alone, nor forsake you!

“The Lord redeemeth the soul of His servants: and none of them that trust in Him shall be desolate.”
(Psalm 34:22)

Psalm341

Let us pray ~

Father God, I know that the life path that I am treading is fraught with difficulties and problems, yet Lord, will I trust You to lead and guide me through the maze of life, because You have promised to be with me to lead and to guide; to strengthen and to help. You alone will give me rivers of flowing waters that my brook shall never be dry if I abide and trust in You.
Let me never lose sight of who I am in Christ and help me to trust You in all things, knowing that I am Your child and that greater is He that is in me than he that is in the world. I Thank You for the beautiful assurance found in Your promises that You hear me, and that You will deliver me. Thank You that You are my Shepherd Who has promised to lead and to protect and to uphold me. Thank You that You are my Defence and my Defender and that You have promised to be my ever-present help in those times of unexpected difficulties, afflictions, and trials.
Thank You Lord, that You remain faithful and dependable, even when I stray from the path that You have graciously laid out for me. May I never forget that You are my firm Anchor and the steady Rock upon which I stand, and that no difficulty in life is to great that You cannot overcome. I thank You and I pray these things in Jesus name, Amen ..

psalm34_7

Published by: A ~ Rambling ~ Zealot ~

Saved, sanctified, and Spirit filled; I'm an on- fire, tongue-talkin' Holy Ghost dynamo! I am Your kindling my Lord ... lay me across Your alter; that Your fire may consume me and burn so brightly that all who see me may see YOU!!! .. May You be glorified in everything I say, do, or post ....

Categories UncategorizedLeave a comment

Leave a Reply

