Humbled to be Exalted ~

praises

“When I consider thy heavens, the work of thy fingers, the moon and the stars, which thou hast ordained; what is man, that thou art mindful of him? and the son of man, that thou visitest him?
(Psalm 8:3-4)

I awoke in the darkness, hearing my Lord’s call upon my heart. Clearly, I heard the small, still voice saying, ‘arise my love’ …. and as I stood in the mirror glancing at my aged face, tracing the lines and creases under my tired eyes, I noticed a strand of hair fall to the counter from my shoulder, and thoughts began to filter into my mind …. After my prayer time; the Spirit laid this scripture passage upon my heart this morning to share with you today ….

Creation reminds us how little we are ….. When we stand on the shore of the ocean, we realize there are worlds underneath the waves …… When we look up from the base of a mountain, we are reminded, “Before the mountains were brought forth, or ever thou hadst formed the earth and the world, even from everlasting to everlasting, thou art God.” (Psalm 90:2).

joy

Those seemingly ageless mountains had a clear beginning, created by God, who has no beginning or end. It is the infinite that reminds us that we are finite. We hear the awe in the psalmist’s voice when he marvels at the expanse of the heavens, the majestic work of God’s hands, and His personal care despite our utter smallness ….

When God’s handiwork reminds us how little we are, we experience His transcendence. A true encounter with the God of the universe is not at all belittling. Rather, His magnificence makes us feel gladly small, perfectly puny, and happily assigned to our insignificance and place, and should fill us with the overwhelming sense of awe. To come to the understanding and be aware that there are hundreds, if not thousands of hair follicles upon our heads, and yet, the Creator of the whole world, the Maker of the entire Universe knows every single one and when one single strand should fall out, He knows …. “what is man, that thou art mindful of him?

god-has-a-plan-for-you-lesson-1-12-638

We need to be brought down to our proper proportion before an awesome God. To a race whose root sin is pride, His supremacy offers a healthy dose of insignificance. It is a wonderful, freeing discovery. His excellence is incomparable and incomprehensible.

The sum of human knowledge is fractional and miniscule; what we do know should remind us of how very little we actually know. God not only established, but also “upholds the universe by the power of His word” as spoken of in (Hebrews 1:1-3), “God, who at sundry times and in divers manners spake in time past unto the fathers by the prophets, hath in these last days spoken unto us by His Son, whom He hath appointed heir of all things, by whom also He made the worlds; Who being the brightness of His glory, and the express image of His person, and upholding all things by the word of His power, when He had by Himself purged our sins, sat down on the right hand of the Majesty on high.”

There are great mysteries surrounding how He holds all things together. Some things are unknowable, and only a fraction of what is knowable has ever been discovered. Even the most learned people must acknowledge the vastness of what we do not and can not understand ….

8e2da5c8f07c70bbc80b4ed385b0fbe7

Yet, what’s true of the cosmos God spoke into being is also true of the Bible, which He wrote. The Scriptures are vast and deep, and how little we know of the layers of revelation. Moses reminds us, “The secret things belong unto the Lord our God: but those things which are revealed belong unto us and to our children for ever, that we may do all the words of this law.”
(Deuteronomy 29:29).

The more we study God’s Word, the more the Holy Ghost opens our eyes to new and powerful truths that were overlooked the first, fifth, and even fiftieth times we read a passage. It happens each time we read a passage that we may have read only months before, only this time receiving a new depth and new interpretation; and it not only reminds us that we are growing and maturing, but encourages us to keep going. This is the divine discernment which we receive from the indwelling Holy Ghost; and it is in those moments, that we experience the ultimate, unsurpassable, and matchless greatness of our God. The humble awareness of our own limitations invites awe in the Creator who knows the end from the beginning and everything in between …..

Experiencing moments of a keen awareness of His magnificence helps you to accept that there is One who exists outside the boundaries of human knowing. “O the depth of the riches both of the wisdom and knowledge of God! how unsearchable are His judgments, and His ways past finding out!”(Romans 11:33) You can never figure God out, but you can hear His call to bow before Him and serve Him as the true center of the universe. You can tune into that still, small voice and hear His call in the quiet hours of the night …..

“Blessed is the people that know the joyful sound: they shall walk, O Lord, in the light of thy countenance. In thy name shall they rejoice all the day: and in thy righteousness shall they be exalted.” (Psalm 89:15-16).

I would pray every one of you experience a dose of His excellencies that may diminish any false sense of personal sovereignty you might feel, and lead you to resign as the director of your own life. I pray a true encounter with the God of the universe may help you feel gladly small. Read (Psalm 8:3-4) again. Considering His greatness and your own minuteness, do you think there might be any specific areas or issues that you need to yield to His sovereign control?

5226485722affd4191f5d75d-1

“Humble yourselves therefore under the mighty hand of God, that He may exalt you in due time:
Casting all your care upon Him; for He careth for you.”
(1 Peter 5:6-7)

Let us pray ~

Lord God, how good it is for me to be reminded and consider Your vast size, knowledge, and power. I know it is the only way to gain the proper perspective on my relative ignorance and utter powerlessness. I Thank You for these moments of divine inspiration by which I am humbled. As I experience Your magnificent presence, let it lead me to accepting my proper place under Your Sovereignty. In awe, do I praise You, and humble myself before You as Lord, and surrender my life anew to You today. You are unsearchable God, and the secret things in my heart belong to You. Thank You for allowing me to find my place in You. In the powerful name of Jesus, I pray, Amen …..

495db6ea20ab53bf38bd2d04796189c1

Published by: A ~ Rambling ~ Zealot ~

Saved, sanctified, and filled with the Holy Ghost; a woman of God, whose life is devoted and surrendered to God. In essence, I am a Zealot for Jesus Christ. I am Your kindling my Lord ... lay me across Your alter; that Your fire may consume me and burn so brightly that all who see me may see YOU!!! And thereby You will be glorified .... May You be glorified in everything I say, do, or post ....

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

