You Can Overcome ~

1-corinthians-10-13

“There hath no temptation taken you but such as is common to man: but God is faithful, who will not suffer you to be tempted above that ye are able; but will with the temptation also make a way to escape, that ye may be able to bear it.” (1 Corinthians 10:13)

Isn’t it interesting that something that is greatly tempting to us could have absolutely no urging to another person?
Our temptations are unique to our own desires and lusts. The struggles with temptations are a real part of the Christian journey ….

Some of us have a difficult time moving past our temptations. Yet, we know that Jesus was tempted at every point that we are ~ except He never sinned (Hebrews 4:15). This gives us hope because we are given power from the Holy Ghost to not sin when we are tempted. Let’s use the word T-E-M-P-T as a road map to guide you towards victory over your temptations, and hopefully help you to remember that you can overcome …..

T – Turn your focus away from the temptation to focusing on God’s power ~

gem-040615n

“Set your affection on things above, not on things on the earth.”
(Colossians 3:2)
If we focus on our temptation, we give it power over our minds. We need to divert our attention more so on the power of God to deliver us from temptations ….

E – Engage your spirit, mind, and body with other activities ~

thumb

“Whatsoever thy hand findeth to do, do it with thy might; for there is no work, nor device, nor knowledge, nor wisdom, in the grave, whither thou goest.”
(Ecclesiastes 9:10)
We are most tempted when we aren’t keeping a healthy balance of our spirit, mind, and body. Disciplining ourselves gives us a renewed vigor in moving past our temptations ….

M – Make yourself open and accountable to godly counselors and mentors ~

james_5_16-337300

“Confess your faults one to another, and pray one for another, that ye may be healed. The effectual fervent prayer of a righteous man availeth much.” (James 5:16)
God will provide godly people to encourage us if we are willing to be vulnerable and honest with our struggles. Their testimonies inspire us to move past temptations to the next level in Christ ….

P – Pursue your God-given dream intentionally and purposefully ~

God has called you

“Faithful is He that calleth you, who also will do it.”
(1 Thessalonians 5:24)
When we are filled with our God-given purpose, everything that hinders us is more easily ignored or avoided. The Spirit of God will reignite our hearts when we seek Him with all of our hearts …..

T – Take notice and action when you see God’s way out of your temptation ~

“There hath no temptation taken you but such as is common to man: but God is faithful, who will not suffer you to be tempted above that ye are able; but will with the temptation also make a way to escape, that ye may be able to bear it.”  (1 Corinthians 10:13)
There’s always an exit door out of temptation for those who follow after Jesus Christ. If we would just take the way out, we can experience the fruit of victory so that strongholds are broken in our lives …..

Let us pray ~

O God, the troubles are many. The trials are great. The temptations are often strong, but I remember there is no temptation that comes to man that is unique or has never come to another. We are taught that Jesus suffered all temptations that are common to man and yet “In Him was no sin neither was guile found in His mouth.”

O Lord, my God, keep me pure within that I may live a clean, pure life that will not disgrace Thee and will bring me the greatest benefit.

I believe, O God, that peace of mind is attainable. I believe peace of mind to be Thy will for all people. I ask that it be given to me as I will seek, and find You God helping me.

I believe that temptation is not a sin while yielding to temptation certainly is and so I come to pray that You would help me not to yield to temptation; whether they are temptations of the body or the mind, keep me pure in thought, word and deed for Lord I want to follow You and I want to live my life to Your honour and praise. You always provide an escape from temptation. Help me not to be tempted and give me the eyes to see and grasp hold of the escapes from temptation that You, in Your grace offer me. You know the areas of my vulnerabilities and You know when and how I will be tempted today and in the days that lie ahead, and Lord ~ although I know that I must make the choice not to succumb to temptation I do ask that you would prompt me to flee temptation, and to walk in the light of the glorious gospel of truth, in Jesus name I pray, amen …..

Published by: A ~ Rambling ~ Zealot ~

Saved, sanctified, and filled with the Holy Ghost; a woman of God, whose life is devoted and surrendered to God. In essence, I am a Zealot for Jesus Christ. I am Your kindling my Lord ... lay me across Your alter; that Your fire may consume me and burn so brightly that all who see me may see YOU!!! And thereby You will be glorified .... May You be glorified in everything I say, do, or post ....

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

