Do You Tend To Wander ?

wanderer

“With my whole heart have I sought thee: O let me not wander from thy commandments.”
(Psalm 119:10)

Psalm 119 10

One of my children was always prone to wander. She would get mesmerized by something glittery and couldn’t help but drift away to investigate. I was always asking, “now where did she go?” And she still wanders to this day. In thinking of her; it made me think of my own tendency to wander at times. Yet, do we as believers ever mature past the wandering stage of our faith?

We are admonished by scripture to “beware lest ye also” (2 Peter 3:17). We should be on the guard from following after our own desires instead of God’s will. We can be enamored with coveting worldly pleasures, pleasing people, or seeking after financial gain and start to lose our spiritual ground ….
“Ye therefore, beloved, seeing ye know these things before, beware lest ye also, being led away with the error of the wicked, fall from your own stedfastness.”

332b2e859b5b3f41fb69c3e35dacd32e

It doesn’t take much to wander away from our first love, Jesus Christ. We must stand firm and disciplined in our faith walk so we don’t find ourselves lost and distant from His presence in our lives. What can we do to keep from wandering away from the Lord? The Lord brought it to me in this manner to B.E.W.A.R.E. ~

B – Be aware of our weaknesses ~

“Watch and pray, that ye enter not into temptation: the spirit indeed is willing, but the flesh is weak.”
(Matthew 26:41)

9992c081159195eb7da3104ab7cb40dc

E – Engage in conversations with God about our weaknesses ~

“Likewise the Spirit also helpeth our infirmities: for we know not what we should pray for as we ought: but the Spirit itself maketh intercession for us with groanings which cannot be uttered.”
(Romans 8:26)

romans-8-26

W – Walk in the Spirit

“If we live in the Spirit, let us also walk in the Spirit.”
(Galatians 5:25)

b1200b5dc98adc6fa782ac74c4ad826c

A – Admit to other believers our struggles when we are weak ~

“Confess your faults one to another, and pray one for another, that ye may be healed. The effectual fervent prayer of a righteous man availeth much.”
(James 5:16)

1380733147395570

R – Read scripture intentionally and specifically to our needs ~

“Study to shew thyself approved unto God, a workman that needeth not to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth.”
(2 Timothy 2:15)

6366749238fd4a2caced732e9b396177

E – Equip ourselves with the full armor of God ~

“Finally, my brethren, be strong in the Lord, and in the power of his might.”
(Ephesians 6:10)

c4ea8fa06072920a9c72fc7f228a1a26

We are secure in our salvation in Jesus Christ. Yet, we need to be careful so that we don’t become prideful in our own religious activities and deceive ourselves. We are instructed to not think of ourselves to highly or get puffed up with our own abilities, as it is written:  “For I say, through the grace given unto me, to every man that is among you, not to think of himself more highly than he ought to think; but to think soberly, according as God hath dealt to every man the measure of faith.” (Romans 12:3).

a96ae9ea4621bbdc328e49d82e0370b6

I myself, am guilty of this, allowing my heart to wander from the purpose that God placed within me when He gave me the desires of my heart. I began to look at my works and allowed my own efforts to take precedence over the glory that should have and always should be His alone. It is only by His grace and favor that we have every blessing that we do, and by His strength are we able to do the tasks that He places before us ….

God is good and He will draw us back to Himself ~ yet why should we waste precious time? We can cling to what is right, and let go of anything that draws our hearts away from Him today ….

I don’t know what wilderness you are wandering through right now, what you are coming out of, or what you may be getting heading into, but when you do, remember the promise of Jesus; rest in the presence of Jesus; rely on the power of Jesus, then you will make it through to the other side. When you are taken by storm, or you feel like you’re alone in the wilderness; there is no need to fear when Jesus is near. He is always with us …

I-am-with-tyou-always-1

Let us pray ~

Dear Lord, there are so many injustices in this world today. Increasingly governments make decisions contrary to the instruction of Your Word. People make choices in direct opposition to what is good and right and true. Extremists persecute the righteous. “Wolves in sheep’s clothing” parade as Your servants, when in fact, they are far from it. You are the Holy One, righteous and just. You have the power to save and the right to judge. May I be pleasing in Your sight. I invite You to work within me, guiding me through Your Holy Spirit to do works that are good, to be your trustworthy and humble willing servant, to accomplish Your will in my life and in this world. Help me to make a difference and to be steadfast and strong in the faith to the end. I know I’m prone to wander at times, yet, I praise You today for Your grace and Your love. I thank You that You bring clarity to me when I should wander off course and I realize that I need Your Spirit to guide me every day in the right direction. In Jesus precious and mighty name I pray, Amen …..

God is with us ….

romans-12-3-638

Published by: A ~ Rambling ~ Zealot ~

Saved, sanctified, and Spirit filled; I'm an on- fire, tongue-talkin' Holy Ghost dynamo! I am Your kindling my Lord ... lay me across Your alter; that Your fire may consume me and burn so brightly that all who see me may see YOU!!! .. May You be glorified in everything I say, do, or post ....

Categories UncategorizedLeave a comment

Leave a Reply

