Daily Scramble ~

child-training2

“Only take heed to thyself, and keep thy soul diligently, lest thou forget the things which thine eyes have seen, and lest they depart from thy heart all the days of thy life: but teach them thy sons, and thy sons’ sons.” (Deuteronomy 4:9)

In (Deuteronomy 4), Moses is giving his farewell to the Israelites. He wanted them to reflect on God’s grace, mercy, provision, and miraculous interventions in their lives. Moses repeated again and again that the people needed to obey God’s laws and diligently teach them to their children as well ….

The people responded that they would in fact, follow after God ~ yet we know that in (Judges 2:10) that “also all that generation were gathered unto their fathers: and there arose another generation after them, which knew not the Lord, nor yet the works which He had done for Israel.”

At some point in time, two generations after Joshua, the people didn’t know God. As a result, God’s judgment fell upon the nation and they began to lose ground to their enemies. How did this happen?

When people stop living diligently to God either in Moses’ time or this current generation, another people will grow up without the knowledge of Him. As believers in Jesus Christ, we have the responsibility to invest in the next generation with our lives that reveal the truths of God and not just religious activity or duties. This isn’t just for parents and grandparents, but for every believer in Jesus Christ who can influence the next generation ….

904ec7666d13d8f4fabb742c38eb339c

If we don’t spend time with God in prayer ~ earnestly seeking His face ~ we will forget about Him and our children; whether natural or spiritual, may never know Jesus for themselves. If we don’t know and live God’s Word, our lives won’t have the season and flavor of Jesus Christ in our homes, workplaces, and communities. And in the same manner, if we don’t actively engage in Christian fellowship in our local ministries, we will snuff out the light of Christ in our communities, and our neighborhoods.

Our due diligence in prayer, study of God’s Word, fasting, and fellowshipping with other believers will keep our testimony alive and thriving to those around us. The next generation will be equipped for the trials and temptations of their days. As a result, they will then equip and prepare the next generation of Christian believers and so forth ….

bibleTeaching

Dear Lord, please forgive me for the times I’ve been negligent in following after You with my whole heart. Use and equip me to share the Word and the love of Jesus with all those around me in my neighborhood and community, and empower me with Your Holy Spirit to boldly speak to those I encounter today about Jesus and let them know that He loves them. Use me Lord, to be an example to my children, to my neighbors and allthose around me, through speech and deed today, and everyday. In Jesus name I pray. Amen.

Girls on Bald Head Island, North Carolina beach.

God is with us …..

aramblingzealot.wordpress.com

Published by: A ~ Rambling ~ Zealot ~

Saved, sanctified, and Spirit filled; I'm an on- fire, tongue-talkin' Holy Ghost dynamo! I am Your kindling my Lord ... lay me across Your alter; that Your fire may consume me and burn so brightly that all who see me may see YOU!!! .. May You be glorified in everything I say, do, or post ....

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

