I Will Bless The Lord ~

4969f4b5d6daebfc48d273b593d3b23b

What does it mean that we can bless God? If God is perfect, how can we bless Him?

To bless God simply means to praise Him or to honor His name. The Hebrew word translated “bless” in the Old Testament literally means to kneel, indicating the idea of honoring the Lord. We do not add anything to Him when we bless Him, yet we worship Him as our appropriate response to His greatness and His love for us ….

9ebc167927302c287ed1b6a0f8467541

In the Psalms, we often find verses that speak of blessing the Lord. For example, (Psalm 104:1) reads, “Bless the Lord, O my soul! O Lord my God, thou are very great! Thou art clothed with honour and majesty.”
(Psalm 16:7) notes, “I will bless the Lord, who hath given me counsel: my reins also instruct me in the night seasons.”

d571384020c0d9b3bac44cab71ced50f

(Psalm 103:1-5) includes the idea of complete worship of the Lord without holding back: “Bless the Lord, O my soul: and all that is within me, bless His holy name. Bless the Lord, O my soul, and forget not all His benefits: Who forgiveth all thine iniquities; who healeth all thy diseases; Who redeemeth thy life from destruction; who crowneth thee with lovingkindness and tender mercies; Who satisfieth thy mouth with good things; so that thy youth is renewed like the eagle’s.”
Not surprisingly, such passages serve as the basis for many of today’s popular worship songs and hymns. For example, “10,000 Reasons” by Matt Redman includes “Bless the Lord, O my soul” as the main line of its chorus. The classic chorus “Bless the Lord, O My Soul” builds upon the same idea …..

3f4d8389f651432c80483cf86eecd554

But does God actually desire for us to “bless” Him? Well, according to Scripture, He certainly does. From the earliest biblical accounts, God called people to honor Him through acts of worship. The Law of Moses instructed people to worship and bless the Lord. The Psalms are filled with commands to bless the Lord: “Behold, bless ye the Lord, all ye servants of the Lord, which by night stand in the house of the Lord.
Lift up your hands in the sanctuary, and bless the Lord.” (Psalm 134:1-2).

Some Psalms use the phrase “bless the Lord” alongside “praise the Lord” indicating that the meaning is similar between the two. For example, (Psalm 104:35) reads, “Bless thou the Lord, O my soul. Praise ye the Lord.” And my favorite; “I will bless the Lord at all times: His praise shall continually be in my mouth.” (Psalm 34:1).

31709964c8f794d2e87cc52665592f47

In the New Testament, Jesus came, instructing His worshipers to worship Him in spirit and in truth: “God is a Spirit: and they that worship Him must worship Him in spirit and in truth.” (John 4:24). And then
(Colossians 3:16) teaches, “Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly in all wisdom; teaching and admonishing one another in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing with grace in your hearts to the Lord.”

cb6df29acbfce4cd121349ed461c3d4d

We may see in (Ephesians 5:18-20), it instructs us, “And be not drunk with wine, wherein is excess; but be filled with the Spirit; speaking to yourselves in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing and making melody in your heart to the Lord; Giving thanks always for all things unto God and the Father in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ.”

2e4c1bb33689fb305fbe16f4521ac887

Therefore, to bless the Lord means to praise Him, exalt Him and worship Him. The Psalms are filled with blessings upon God for His counsel (Psalm 16:7), His holiness (Psalm 103:1), His dominion over all things (Psalm 103:22), His honor and majesty (Psalm 104:1). We offer Him our praise and blessings because He deserves them. Unlike God’s blessings upon us, which are wholly undeserved and by His mercy and grace, our blessing God is done out of an understanding that He is the true praise-worthy Creator and our heavenly Father.

God is glorified when we bless and praise and acknowledge Him. That acknowledgement comes in the form of praise, adoration, thanksgiving and love. That is what we were originally created for. However, no man can bless God in this way unless He is right with God for we read in (Proverbs 28:9): “He that turneth away his ear from hearing the law, even his prayer shall be abomination.” That’s pretty strong right there, however leaves no room for doubt.
Therefore, we should have some time set aside each day, to give our praise to Him who has blessed us so richly …..

363e7c74ac6088728b377784323cdd4e

Let us pray ~

Precious Lord Jesus ~ how great You are and I just want to kneel before You today to say thank You ~ thank You that Your blessings and mercies are new every morning. You are a great and wonderful God and I love You. I Thank You that each day I wake up to a new day that Your love and grace towards me is new each morning and waiting for me as I open my eyes to a new day. Thank You that at the end of the day Your love continues to support me to guard and protect during the dark hours of the night.
I Thank You that as I go about my daily business and the duties of the day, You are there to lead and guide, and to help and to support me. And I thank You that no matter where I go Your blessings hover above my head and I am never alone, and for this, my hope is in You.

Thank You for Your great many precious blessings and thank You that You pour them out on me day by day. Great is Your faithfulness O God my Saviour; all I have needed You have provided. I will Bless Your holy name for ever and ever. I bless You and praise Your name that I sould be called Your child and that I can come before Your throne of grace.
Thank You Father, that I have been born into Your family and have been made a joint-heir with the Lord Jesus Christ.
Thank You that I have been given the indwelling Holy Spirit to lead and guide and have not been given the spirit of fear. Lead me Father in the way that You would have me go and may all glory and blessing be given to You today, and every single day following for only You are worthy of our praise and worship. In Jesus’ precious name, Amen.

“But we will bless the Lord from this time forth and for evermore. Praise the Lord.” (Psalm 115:18)

aramblingzealot.wordpress.com

Published by: A ~ Rambling ~ Zealot ~

Saved, sanctified, and filled with the Holy Ghost; a woman of God, whose life is devoted and surrendered to God. In essence, I am a Zealot for Jesus Christ. I am Your kindling my Lord ... lay me across Your alter; that Your fire may consume me and burn so brightly that all who see me may see YOU!!! And thereby You will be glorified .... May You be glorified in everything I say, do, or post ....

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

