Intimacy With God ~

slide-12

New covenant living is a life defined by intimacy with God and others. But in a society where calendars are filled weeks in advance, how do we resist the urge to view relational intimacy as just one more thing to strive for?

Hebrews gives us a solid idea of what new covenant living looks like, doing so through a passage I will refer to as the “let-us salad.” Let’s toss it up, shall we?

* Let us “draw near with a true heart in full assurance of faith, having our hearts sprinkled from an evil conscience, and our bodies washed with pure water.”
(Hebrews 10:22)

We have what old covenant Jews longed for ~ intimacy with God! As new covenant believers, we don’t require a mediator; we have a direct line to Jesus and can have new covenant conversations with Him ….
What does that look like? Open Scripture, read a portion or a verse, and ask, “Holy Spirit, what do You want to say to me today?” He’ll answer through your own quiet thoughts as they align with His Word …..

* Let us “hold fast the profession of our faith without wavering; for He is faithful that promised.”
(Hebrews 10:23)

God-is-Faithful-II

Your hope is realized by God’s faithfulness, not your own strength. When my daughter was little, she’d wrap her arms and legs around me with all her strength. I’d often wonder, ‘does she think she’s the one holding on’ ….
We are toddlers in the arms of our heavenly Father, and He’s saying, “I’ve got you, but go ahead and hang on!” He enjoys our embrace, and we will never slip from His ….

The final ingredient in our “let-us salad” is investment in a community of believers:

* Let us “consider one another to provoke unto love and to good works; Not forsaking the assembling of ourselves together, as the manner of some is; but exhorting one another: and so much the more, as ye see the day approaching.”
(Hebrews 10:24-25)

Hebrews 10-24 Love and Good Works gray

Intimacy is the result of investing. When it comes to our intimacy with God, He has already done all the heavy lifting. All we need to do is show up in faith.
When it comes to intimacy with other believers ~ again, His Spirit does the heavy lifting. As we spur on and stir up one another, His life of love multiplies in us and through us ….

Let us pray ~

Sweet Jesus, I can be certain of Your presence, confident in Your promises, and connected by Your Spirit. Reveal to me how I am trying to work for what You have already freely given. Today I ask: what do You want me to say today, and who would You like me to reach out to? Show me how I may best honor You. Amen.

cf50f1225f704153b8a64d9969cb73d9

God is with us ….

Published by: A ~ Rambling ~ Zealot ~

Saved, sanctified, and Spirit filled; I'm an on- fire, tongue-talkin' Holy Ghost dynamo! I am Your kindling my Lord ... lay me across Your alter; that Your fire may consume me and burn so brightly that all who see me may see YOU!!! .. May You be glorified in everything I say, do, or post ....

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

