Are You a Fan or a Follower?

fanorfollower

What does it mean to be a disciple of Christ? When I think of Christ’s disciples the main characters of the New Testament always come to mind ….. Matthew, Mark, Luke, John, and of course, let’s not forget Peter; these are all great examples of a disciple, but a better example in my opinion is us.

The Lord called those men to be His disciples centuries ago, but He has never stopped calling. We are also called to be His disciples and not only just disciples, but BETTER disciples, as Jesus told us; “Verily, verily, I say unto you, He that believeth on me, the works that I do shall he do also; and greater works than these shall he do; because I go unto my Father.”(John 14:12).
And because we have the written accounts of the gospel to guide us and help us avoid the mistakes previous disciples made, we have an advantage. That’s not to say we aren’t going to go without mistakes, but we are called to do the best that we can.

So how do we go about doing this?
As called disciples of Christ, there are many responsibilities we have to bear as we go along our journey through mortal life. There are many things that we must, and must not do if we are to be called disciples. These are a few I just came up with on my own ~

Things We Should Do:

1.  Follow the commandments. These aren’t suggestions. They are rules we are to live by and rules are there for a reason, don’t question, just do …..

2. Have unconditional faith in the Lord Jesus Christ and our Heavenly Father. Faith is everything. “Without faith it is impossible to please God.” (Hebrew’s 11:6).

3. Love the Lord’s people and serve them to the best of your abilities. If you can do something for someone. DO IT. Don’t ask first, and Do Not do anything ever expecting anything in return for a blessing ….

1-what-does-it-mean-to-be-a-disciple-of-jesus-keynote-30-728

Things We Shouldn’t Do:

1. Question our worth. How can we expect to be good disciples if we don’t believe in ourselves?

2. Blame the Lord or others for our problems and mistakes. As disciples we need to own up and take responsibility for our actions. Accountability is vital.

3. Listen to Satan. Worst decision you can make. He will consistently bring you down and move you as far away from the path as possible. That is his sole purpose; to keep you downcast, anxious, depressed and in an ever present defeated mindset. “The thief cometh not, but for to steal, and to kill, and to destroy” (John 10:10); he wants steal your joy, your Word and your victory, kill your praise and worship, and destroy your very soul and he will use all manner of schemes, devices, and tricks to do so. He will use the worldly pleasures, lusts of our flesh, and even use friends, family, and loved ones …..

These are just a few of the things we can do and not do when trying to be good disciples of Christ. There are a lot more and I myself struggle with just these often. Mainly what the Lord is asking is that we try and be obedient. If we slip and fall He will help us back up, but He needs us to be trying and making an effort, or we will never succeed. We must fight the good fight of faith, as it is written: “Fight the good fight of faith, lay hold on eternal life, whereunto thou art also called, and hast professed a good profession before many witnesses.” (1 Timothy 6:12), that we may then say, “I have fought a good fight, I have finished my course, I have kept the faith:
Henceforth there is laid up for me a crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous judge, shall give me at that day: and not to me only, but unto all them also that love his appearing.” (2 Timothy 4:7-8).

Being a disciple is the work we’re here to do. When we do the things we need to be doing to be those good disciples we are on the path home and we are in the good graces of God.
Therefore suit up, show up, get armored up, prayed up, praised up, and let us proceed to do the work of our calling ……

mainslide-come-and-see

“And the Lord shall deliver me from every evil work, and will preserve me unto His heavenly kingdom: to whom be glory for ever and ever. Amen.”
(2 Timothy 4:18)

“Master, I will follow thee whithersoever thou goest.”
(Matthew 8:19)

aramblingzealot.wordpress.com

aramblingzealot.wordpress.com

Published by: A ~ Rambling ~ Zealot ~

Saved, sanctified, and filled with the Holy Ghost; a woman of God, whose life is devoted and surrendered to God. In essence, I am a Zealot for Jesus Christ. I am Your kindling my Lord ... lay me across Your alter; that Your fire may consume me and burn so brightly that all who see me may see YOU!!! And thereby You will be glorified .... May You be glorified in everything I say, do, or post ....

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

