Be Anxious For Nothing ~

51d6e365b3ba3aba6d904e4317d3f1eb-1

Be Anxious For Nothing

“To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven: a time to weep, and a time to laugh; a time to mourn, and a time to dance….”
(Ecclesiastes 3:1,4)

Memories can wallop quite a sting. Like a sucker punch to the jawline, or an upper cut to the gut. I know I experienced some last night that took my breath away. My gut, my back, all of me reels from the toll that a flashback takes upon my body. My feelings of sorrow are real. Raw …. Strong …. Sometimes completely unpredictable and unexpected when they resurface. I wonder if perhaps they aren’t even a bit selfish ….

For a while now, I usually just take deep breaths and move on. I had built invisible walls, and constructed high places emotionally to keep the pain away from my heart. I just didn’t want to face the issues or deal with them when they resurfaced. Confident, if not comfortable, that this is what strong Christian women do. We pray; strap on courage, and move forward — chin up, telling ourselves, “God’s got this” right?? Afterall, Paul says, “forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before, I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.”
(Phillipians 3:13-14).

Well, realistically speaking, this is one of the more difficult things I have ever faced in my spiritual journey. I dare say, easier said than done. In the past I’d glance toward sorrow, but would rarely invite it to walk beside me as I processed pain. Truthfully, I never processed. I always simply resorted to that immediate fix and used other methods to obliterate feelings, sweeping the memories and sorrow away with them. No processing — just stuffing and more stuffing …..

Not anymore. Today, I at least make an attempt, however feeble, to process pain. And there are times I fall woefully short, as yesterday. I’ve come to realize though that sometimes I just need to cry, and God wired us with emotions so maybe I am supposed to feel, even the painful parts.
I am learning to allow them to surface as they will and accompany me on the road of life instead of pretending they don’t exist or really matter. Truth is, it does matter that there are still unresolved, or rather, unhealed dry places in my soul. I think I have some wounds that have never been allowed to surface and have been stuffed so deeply within my protective layers and hidden behind the mask of “I’m fine” that I haven’t given it all over to the healing touch of Jesus. Something that has always stuck with me that I remember from the past is a meaning I heard for the word fine: F= fearful I= insecure N= neurotic E= emotional; so if I say I’m fine, chances are I’m not ….

In the book of Ecclesiastes, Solomon wrote about the gamut of minutes, months, and murk that all of humanity must navigate.
His Word provides the bounce of perspective I need. It picks me up. Takes my hand and urges me forward. Leads me to His presence. Gives me permission to feel, to be sad. His grace gives the strength I need to handle the hard emotions, and His peace envelopes . His compassion calmly covers my aches as I go to Him in prayer and pour out my sorrow and weep upon His feet.

395603_544513075600432_819642870_n

 

The bible tells us to give thanks in everything. And that God has treasures hidden in dark places that can be found when we search for them; even sometimes when we aren’t searching. I consider this and choose to thank God in the midst of my sorrow and grieving. There is a power in praise that doesn’t negate sorrow, but does instead sooth and soften it. I am told not to be anxious; again nearly impossible for me. But I still must obey and through my obedience, I go to prayer, pleading the blood and pouring my petition out that my Comforter remove these places from my heart. I pray He water those dry places that I may be restored to peace. Then I follow through with His instructions in (2 Corinthians 10:5-6) which says, “Casting down imaginations, and every high thing that exalteth itself against the knowledge of God, and bringing into captivity every thought to the obedience of Christ; and having in a readiness to revenge all disobedience, when your obedience is fulfilled.”

“Be careful (anxious) for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God. And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.
Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things. Those things, which ye have both learned, and received, and heard, and seen in me, do: and the God of peace shall be with you.”
(Phillipians 4:6-9)

243e57b308ea52ce259e39eb93a83859

As I lift my weary heart to His, I am held by a loving Comforter who catches tears and willingly shares in sadness. And the prayer of my heart becomes something that will honor Him …

Let us pray ~

Dear Lord, You are compassionate and loving. You know the details of my life and the burdens of my heart. I bring them to You now and give You thanks.
Lord, You have told us in Your Word to be anxious for nothing ~ and I know in my heart that I am anxious about lot of things, and what is worse, I pretend to others that I am fine, when in fact, I am anxious about everything. I know such striving is not Your will for my life and I pray my Lord that You will show me how I may live my life resting on Your promises of peace and rest.

You said in Your word not to be anxious, but pray instead about everything and to talk to You about what I need, and also to have a thankful heart for all that You done in my life … I am coming to You this very moment to tell You that I long to stop being so anxious and to ask that in Your grace You would keep me from all memories and anxious thoughts and give me Your peace that passes all understanding. I also pray that You will help me to keep my mind fixed on Jesus so that when any anxious imaginings starts to surface in my mind, I may immediately turn my thoughts onto YOU, and thank You for all that You have done for me – and for the many promises that are all Yes and Amen in Jesus Christ … I thank You that You are a God who listens to our heart cry and answers our prayers, and I believe that Your mercies are new every morning, so show me Your mercy and comfort today and although I feel that I have been walking through the valley of the shadow of death; I know that I need fear no evil for YOU are with me. Please lead me Lord, into Your way of peace.
Heavenly Father, thank You for the comforting words that are in the Word of God. Thank You that Your grace is sufficient for me today … thank You that You have the strength for all the tasks that I will meet today … thank You that Your hand is guiding me and Your love is surrounding me every moment of this day and each to follow. In Jesus’ name I pray, Amen …..

“O Lord my God, I cried unto thee, and thou hast healed me. O Lord, thou hast brought up my soul from the grave: thou hast kept me alive, that I should not go down to the pit. Sing unto the Lord, O ye saints of His, and give thanks at the remembrance of His holiness. For His anger endureth but a moment; in His favour is life: weeping may endure for a night, but joy cometh in the morning.”
(Psalm 30:1-5).

6ff6194ad560d22353793b0904222e58

God is with us ….

aramblingzealot.wordpress.com

Published by: A ~ Rambling ~ Zealot ~

Saved, sanctified, and filled with the Holy Ghost; a woman of God, whose life is devoted and surrendered to God. In essence, I am a Zealot for Jesus Christ. I am Your kindling my Lord ... lay me across Your alter; that Your fire may consume me and burn so brightly that all who see me may see YOU!!! And thereby You will be glorified .... May You be glorified in everything I say, do, or post ....

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

