Bless Rather Than Curse ~

CNUqc0MU8AAo5ae

“Therefore God give thee of the dew of heaven, and the fatness of the earth, and plenty of corn and wine:
Let people serve thee, and nations bow down to thee: be lord over thy brethren, and let thy mother’s sons bow down to thee: cursed be every one that curseth thee, and blessed be he that blesseth thee.”
(Genesis 27:28-29)

Giving a blessing dates back to Genesis, when God blessed Adam, Noah, and Abraham. Later, Abraham blessed Isaac, Isaac blessed Jacob, and Jacob blessed his twelve sons and two of his grandsons. This gift carries across Scripture and time. And it still matters today, because deep within the heart of every person is a longing for parental approval …..

So what does a biblical blessing consist of you may be thinking?
Well, to break it all the way down, basically it is words and actions that express fondness for, confidence in, and recognition of a specific person ….
In Old Testament times, the blessing was a bestowal of favor and acceptance, rooted not merely in a child’s appearance or accomplishments but in their very character.

In (Genesis 27), Isaac blessed his two sons, Jacob and Esau. Though the story is filled with deception and drama, it provides an enduring model for the five elements of blessing. Let’s look at those …..

1.) A Meaningful Touch …..
We can’t deny the healing, nurturing, and affirming power of touch, yet it’s often sadly neglected in the home. Isaac’s blessing began by touching Jacob….
“And his father Isaac said unto him, Come near now, and kiss me, my son.” (Genesis 27:26–27).

2.) Spoken Words ….
A blessing is not a blessing until it is spoken. Isaac spoke powerful words over his son: “Let people serve thee, and nations bow down to thee: be lord over thy brethren, and let thy mother’s sons bow down to thee: cursed be every one that curseth thee, and blessed be he that blesseth thee.”

3.) Personal Affirmations …
Isaac also said, “See, the smell of my son is as the smell of a field which the LORD hath blessed” (v. 27)
At the heart of a blessing are words that communicate love and acceptance; that convey “You matter”… “You are special and unique”….

4.) Spiritual Vision ….
Our primary vision for those we bless should never be educational, athletic, or social, but rather spiritual. When Isaac asked God to give his son dew, fatness, grain, and wine in (v. 28), he wasn’t just asking God to feed Jacob. It was a prayer for his son to connect the blessings of life to the Giver of Life ….

5.) Prosperous Expectation
Pray that those you bless will succeed by kingdom standards, not world standards; wisely steward what they have for Christ’s kingdom, and master the hardships of life, rather than be mastered by them. Thus Isaac prayed for his son to “be lord over others, rather than enslaved by them” ….

You may have never have received approval from your parents;  however, you can either use that as an excuse to withhold blessing from your children, or break the chains of the past and give this powerful gift to the next generation ….

5b5551cc3f3faeb33da68a1c1fdb6e33

And if you do not have children of your own, you are still in a position to meet this God-given need in someone’s life.
Those who are mature in the Lord have a responsibility to share biblical blessings with others. It may be the perfect gift for someone you love ….

I have said it before, and I will say it again, because it needs repeating; if I, (or anyone) speak on behalf of God; whether regarding blessings or prophesies a word; they speak unto others to edify, exhort, and comfort ~
(1 Corinthians 14:3).
If I am not doing one of these three, then I am NOT speaking for God; I am giving my own opinion or my own emotional  judgment …. And this is not only unacceptable, it is unscriptural, unrighteous and ungodly. I do and have done this, so it applies to me as well ….

words-hurt

Just last night I used my words and tore down someone I love. Although I felt I was speaking God’s truth, I was not edifying in my manner nor was I exhorting or giving comfort. I was shaming and condemning and judgmental. Critical to a fault. That makes me a hypocrite. I love her and want to save her soul, but my manner wasn’t the way Jesus would have spoken, and my heart was at unrest and unease all night until I accepted my spanking and humbled myself yet again before God …..

51W--plm+pL._SX300_

Be mindful of your words this week. James said it well: “If any man among you seem to be religious, and bridleth not his tongue, but deceiveth his own heart, this man’s religion is vain.” (James 1:26).
That’s some pretty strong words to live by. Many call themselves religious or Christians, if you will, yet out of their mouths flow the most ungodly and unloving things. Again, guilty ….. I’ve done this myself. Certainly, we all fall short (Romans 3:23), but James tells us that life and death are in the power of the tongue. And the most convicting scripture that the Lord placed in my heart was this: “But I say unto you, That every idle word that men shall speak, they shall give account thereof in the day of judgment. For by thy words thou shalt be justified, and by thy words thou shalt be condemned.” (Matthew 12:36-37).

Bible-verses-for-Good-Communication

James goes on to say the tongue kindles a great fire: “Even so the tongue is a little member, and boasteth great things. Behold, how great a matter a little fire kindleth! And the tongue is a fire, a world of iniquity: so is the tongue among our members, that it defileth the whole body, and setteth on fire the course of nature; and it is set on fire of hell.”
(James 3:5-6). He goes on to say, “but the tongue can no man tame; it is an unruly evil, full of deadly poison.
Therewith bless we God, even the Father; and therewith curse we men, which are made after the similitude of God. Out of the same mouth proceedeth blessing and cursing. My brethren, these things ought not so to be.” (vs. 8-10).

“Let no corrupt communication proceed out of your mouth, but that which is good to the use of edifying, that it may minister grace unto the hearers.” (Ephesians 4:29).

When we read the Word, we must do what is instructed us and not just hear it, then walk away and forget it, to go about our business. Why even bother reading it then? We cannot be saved by a gospel that we don’t know or don’t live by. Again, I refer to James: “Wherefore lay apart all filthiness and superfluity of naughtiness, and receive with meekness the engrafted Word, which is able to save your souls.
But be ye doers of the Word, and not hearers only, deceiving your own selves. For if any be a hearer of the Word, and not a doer, he is like unto a man beholding his natural face in a glass (mirror): for he beholdeth himself, and goeth his way, and straightway forgetteth what manner of man he was. But whoso looketh into the perfect law of liberty, and continueth therein, he being not a forgetful hearer, but a doer of the work, this man shall be blessed in his deed.” (James 1:21-25)

In summary; what blessing have you received from parents, spiritual leaders, or even others in your life? Think about how that may have shaped your identity, security, and confidence. Who are the people in your life you can convey blessing to this week; and what can you do to communicate this with greater purpose? Bless someone today, and pay it forward through the week, and watch God work in your own life by pouring blessings into you ……

Let us pray ~

Lord; thank You for loving and affirming me as Your child by chastising me. I need that in my life. Thank You for being such a tender Father and so gracious to forgive each time I slip up. Help me recognize opportunities to convey blessings to others this week ~ especially the children in my life. May I convey ans confirm that You have a unique vision for their lives. Help me to give this blessing to all those that I love. I pray this in the strong name of Jesus, with Whom You blessed with the words, “this is my beloved Son in whom I am well pleased” and so I pray in Jesus’ name, Amen …..

God bless you all …..

FB_IMG_1463371152254

aramblingzealot.wordpress.com

Published by: A ~ Rambling ~ Zealot ~

Saved, sanctified, and filled with the Holy Ghost; a woman of God, whose life is devoted and surrendered to God. In essence, I am a Zealot for Jesus Christ. I am Your kindling my Lord ... lay me across Your alter; that Your fire may consume me and burn so brightly that all who see me may see YOU!!! And thereby You will be glorified .... May You be glorified in everything I say, do, or post ....

2 Comments

2 thoughts on “Bless Rather Than Curse ~”

Leave a Reply

