Crown of Glory ~

20091226_gray-hair_poster_img

“The hoary head is a crown of glory, if it be found in the way of righteousness.”
(Proverbs 16:31)

For those who may not know; the dictionary defines the word “hoary” as having gray or white hair; synonyms: grayish-white, snowy, silver, or silvery.

We do everything we can to hold on to our youth as much as possible. Getting old definitely has its inconveniences; however, growing old in the Lord is a privilege. Even though the outer person is fading away with wrinkles, gray hairs, and fragile bones; the inward person is renewed every day in the presence of the Lord. (2 Corinthians 4:16).

I pray for two people every single day without regard or hesitation, one being older than myself, and over the last 2 years, she has invested much prayer and wisdom into my life. I’ve appreciated the godly example that they live out before me. One day I hope to exemplify her grace in aging. What does it mean to have a C-R-O-W-N of glory in the Lord? Let’s look at that, shall we?

C – Calmness in the midst of chaos ….
“Surely I have behaved and quieted myself, as a child that is weaned of his mother: my soul is even as a weaned child.”
(Psalm 131:2)
When they’ve seen God come through in the past, they have a certain confidence in the Lord to do great things. Their faith in God brings peace and comfort to those who are struggling with doubt ….

R – Reflection and pause when they are giving godly counsel ….
“The heart of the wise teacheth his mouth, and addeth learning to his lips”
(Proverbs 16:23).
They don’t give hasty advice; rather, they are careful to speak truth and knowledge to those who are willing to listen. Their advice is solid and rooted and grounded in the Scriptures …..

O – Order their steps according to God’s Word ….
“Through thy precepts I get understanding: therefore I hate every false way.”
(Psalm 119:104)
They know that every day is a gift from God. As a result, they are more prone to say, “if it the Lord’s will, I will do this” …..

W – Wait on the Lord with patience and strength ….
“But they that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint.”
(Isaiah 40:31).
Since they’ve had time to wait on the Lord, they are well aware of His best timing. They leave anxiousness alone and instead rest on God’s promises ….

N – Never stop praying and interceding for people ….
“Praying always with all prayer and supplication in the Spirit, and watching thereunto with all perseverance and supplication for all saints.”
(Ephesians 6:18)
Many of them will not see all of their prayers answered in their lifetime; yet, they will continue to pray for loved ones until their last breath ….

If you might be feeling negatively about growing old, or having grey hair; just know it is your crowning glory. Not anything certainly, to be ashamed of. I look at my wrinkles simply as my “roadmap” which shows others that I have lived, and experienced, and therefore perhaps I might have a little wisdom to share …..

0fdf3c0b70fa980e25e29feda3b99663

Let us pray ~

Dear Lord, I want to respect and honor the godly examples of older Christians that You have placed in my life. Help me to listen more carefully to their advice. Help me to always honor all of my elders and show the proper respect due them. Help me and guide me to be a godly man or woman of example to others today. In Jesus holy name I pray, Amen.

God is with us ….

e8c05317915871c2a6a31d8ec5967568

Published by: A ~ Rambling ~ Zealot ~

Saved, sanctified, and Spirit filled; I'm an on- fire, tongue-talkin' Holy Ghost dynamo! I am Your kindling my Lord ... lay me across Your alter; that Your fire may consume me and burn so brightly that all who see me may see YOU!!! .. May You be glorified in everything I say, do, or post ....

Categories UncategorizedLeave a comment

Leave a Reply

