Ramblings on Frustration ~

frust3

I was really, really mad last night. I was so upset that my muscles hurt and I felt like screaming and thrashing, and pulling my hair out. I still even feel like crying from the stress of the situation. Have you ever been in this kind of emotional state?

dT4obEBEc

The circumstances don’t really matter to let me cover the points I want to write about today. Let me just say I am very frustrated about a situation and some people I depend on. Yesterday was not a good day! And now I have to deal with it again today ….

But here’s the thing . . . I have learned from experience that when we are in such a carnal state (and yes, my flesh was screaming), it’s not the right time to react. It’s not even the right time to say very much. I know. I’ve made the mistake of letting my frustration drive my actions and the results are usually not very good! In fact, they are usually regrettable ….

As hard as it may seem, the very best thing to do when frustration has you by your neck is to be quiet. Let some time pass. Get a perspective. And try to calm your nerves as much as you can. Bottom line: PRAY!! This may take a little time. You may need to take a walk and get some fresh air. But the goal right now is to keep your emotions in check so they don’t do damage!

There is nothing wrong with anger. Jesus was angry several times. And of course, the Old Testament includes many times when God was angry and even disgusted with His people. So don’t beat yourself up too bad for feeling angry or frustrated about an issue …

But there is a tipping point. And here is what the Word of God says about it …
“Be ye angry, and sin not: let not the sun go down upon your wrath: neither give place to the devil”
(Ephesians 4:26-27).

So yes, feel the anger. But don’t allow it to be the driving force behind your actions that could cause damage to you or to others. Damage being: defiling your spirit with ungodly words. For me, this command is why it’s so important to keep my lips sealed when I am upset, frustrated and angry. Again, the Bible has a very clear, explicit instruction to us about that …..
“Out of the same mouth proceedeth blessing and cursing. My brethren, these things ought not so to be.
Doth a fountain send forth at the same place sweet water and bitter? Can the fig tree, my brethren, bear olive berries? either a vine, figs? so can no fountain both yield salt water and fresh” (James 3:10-12).

Anger and frustration often serve as the fuel for toxic words, put-downs and mean statements! But once those anger-filled words are out of your mouth, there’s no getting them back! They are like feathers caught by the wind, never to be recaptured …..

The Bible also teaches us a couple other really important lessons about anger. These are found in the following verses of (James 3:13-18) ~ “Who is a wise man and endued with knowledge among you? let him shew out of a good conversation his works with meekness of wisdom. But if ye have bitter envying and strife in your hearts, glory not, and lie not against the truth. This wisdom descendeth not from above, but is earthly, sensual, devilish. For where envying and strife is, there is confusion and every evil work. But the wisdom that is from above is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, and easy to be intreated, full of mercy and good fruits, without partiality, and without hypocrisy. And the fruit of righteousness is sown in peace of them that make peace.”

We are to hold our peace and let meekness rule our conversation. This means watch our tongues and don’t lash out in frustration. God doesn’t want anger and frustration to mature into resentment and bitterness. He doesn’t want us in the stress negative emotions can foster. And He doesn’t want us to get into unforgiveness. We must strive to be full of mercy, even unto those we depend upon that disappoint us or let us down ….

I could go into the chorus from Taylor Swift’s hit song, “Shake It Off” but that is not godly, and neither would be to traumatize you with my off-key voice. However, that’s exactly what we’re to do. We are to shake off the negative feelings. We are to forgive. We are to rid our souls of the junk before it has time to fester ….

I’d like to say my heart is now totally free of the frustration I feel about those who are frustrating me; but I’m not quite there, yet. I’ll get there …. because I am diligently praying. And as I do, I will think about how to handle the issue in a way that is right and respectful and appropriate for them, and for me. I will get through this …. and as a child of God and a citizen in His kingdom, I have a responsibility to be kind rather than harsh …. Respectful rather than impatient and rude ….
And open rather than closed off. I have to admit, I think the Holy Spirit is talking to me right now about the day ahead of me. “Yes sir, I will obey” …..

Yes, obedience is the trump card. No matter how I feel, as a follower of Jesus Christ; I am called to obey. I am called to empty myself so the Spirit of God can fill me ~ even if my flesh doesn’t want to comply!

For now I’m going to take a breather and go dwaddle in my garden …. Pray…. and think about what God’s Word is saying to me: “Humble yourselves therefore under the mighty hand of God, that He may exalt you in due time:
Casting all your care upon Him; for He careth for you” (1 Peter 5:6-7).
When I return I’ll pray some more, and make sure we’re all good, (me and the Big Guy) which will lead to the fulfillment of His command to free myself from all anxiety before I hit the day to do whatever He places before me to be useful to Him. I cannot be a vessel of honor if my vessel is full of bitterness …..

I hope this open-heart message has been helpful to you to be blessed as you continue to grow in the love and knowledge of Jesus Christ. He loves you and so do I and I am prepared to pray if any has a need ~

Let us pray ~

Loving heavenly Father, I thank You that I am Your child and thank You that You sent the Lord Jesus into the world to be my Saviour and thank You that by His death He has brought me into Your family. Father I know that in Your Word it tells us not to worry about anything ~ but rather to cast ALL of my burdens upon You; and Father I truly want to do this; but at times I find it so difficult to put this into practice. Lord, at times the circumstances that I am facing are very hard to bear and too often I find myself in an attitude of worry and anxiety. Help me to develop a peace of mind that only comes from casting all of my burdens upon You. Help me I pray, to take my eyes off the circumstances of my life and its circumstances that seem so burdensome to me and to learn how to keep my eyes fixed upon Jesus, for I know that this is what You have instructed us to do of which we are to enjoy the perfect peace that only comes from You. Lord forgive me for so often trying to do things in my own strength. Help me never to forget that without You I can do nothing ~ but that I can do ALL things through Christ , Who gives me the strength.
Lord You have promised to keep all those in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on You therefore, help me, I pray, to keep the eyes of my heart firmly trained on Jesus every moment of the day and flood my life with Your perfect peace of mind that passes all our human understanding, in Jesus name I pray, Amen ….
God is with us ….. God bless today ❤ and grant you peace ……

9fd29d526880565835c87c8bb352fc2f-1

 

Published by: A ~ Rambling ~ Zealot ~

Saved, sanctified, and filled with the Holy Ghost; a woman of God, whose life is devoted and surrendered to God. In essence, I am a Zealot for Jesus Christ. I am Your kindling my Lord ... lay me across Your alter; that Your fire may consume me and burn so brightly that all who see me may see YOU!!! And thereby You will be glorified .... May You be glorified in everything I say, do, or post ....

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

