Focus Up ~

maxresdefault

Focus Up!

Have you ever compares yourself to another woman? Maybe you have thought to yourself, “if only I were as pretty….smart…or confident as she is”…… How easy it is to think that if we had more or knew more, then we’d be secure. But the truth is, even people who have it all still struggle with feelings of insecurity. The Bible opens with the story of a woman who had everything but it still wasn’t enough (Genesis 2).

Even though God established Eve’s worth as His child; the crown of His creation and lavished her with gifts of intimacy, beauty, security, significance, and purpose ~ it wasn’t enough. Satan convinced Eve to take her eyes off what she did have and focus on what she didn’t have ….

Have you also heard Satan’s whispers, saying  you’re not all you could be ~ or should be? I know I struggle with this often.
Just like Eve, you and I have an enemy. The Bible calls him the father of lies, and tell us there is no truth in him (John 8:44). Interestingly, the meaning of the word lie is “a falsehood with the intent to deceive.” Satan doesn’t just lie; he intends to deceive us by getting us to take our eyes off of who we are and what we have in Christ. It’s exactly what he did with Eve: “And the eyes of them both were opened, and they knew that they were naked; and they sewed fig leaves together, and made themselves aprons. And they heard the voice of the Lord God walking in the garden in the cool of the day: and Adam and his wife hid themselves from the presence of the Lord God amongst the trees of the garden. And the Lord God called unto Adam, and said unto him, Where art thou?
And he said, I heard thy voice in the garden, and I was afraid, because I was naked; and I hid myself.
And He said, Who told thee that thou wast naked? Hast thou eaten of the tree, whereof I commanded thee that thou shouldest not eat? (Genesis 3:7-11).
God asks them who told you that you were naked? In other words, He is saying, who told you something is wrong with you? By asking this, God was making sure that they knew someone was casting shame on them ~ and it wasn’t Him ….

The enemy whispered lies into their hearts, causing them to move away from Him and from each other.
Satan’s intent for us is exactly the same as it was for Eve. He wants us to believe his deceptions and fall into the distraction of feeling inadequate, insecure and like we’ll never ever measure up. But we don’t have to go along with him. Instead we can pray, “Lord, help me recognize Satan’s lies, refuse his temptations and rely on Your truth about me instead.” If we have placed our trust in Jesus as our Saviour; we can stand on the promises of who we are in Him. We are who He thinks we are ~ not who we think we are, unless we can align our thoughts with His.
And when we are tempted to measure up, we can choose to focus “up” instead as we rely on these truths to remind our hearts of who we are in Christ ….

I Am Accepted ….

I am God’s child….
(John 1:12)
I have been bought with a price and I belong to God.
(1 Corinthians 6:19–20)
I have been chosen by God and adopted as His child.
(Ephesians 1:3–8)
I have direct access to the throne of grace through Jesus Christ.
(Hebrews 4:14–16)

I Am Secure …..

I am assured that God works for my good in all circumstances.
(Romans 8:28)
I am free from condemnation. I cannot be separated from God’s love.
(Romans 8:31–39)
I have been established, anointed, and sealed by God.
(2 Corinthians 1:21–22)
I am hidden with Christ in God. (Colossians 3:1–4)
I am confident God will complete the good work He started in me.
(Philippians 1:6)
I have been given a spirit of power, love, and a sound mind. (2 Timothy 1:7)

I Am Significant ….

I have been chosen and appointed to bear fruit. (John 15:16)
I am a minister of reconciliation for God.
(2 Corinthians 5:17–21)
I am seated with Jesus Christ in the heavenly realm. (Ephesians 2:6)
I am God’s workmanship.
(Ephesians 2:10)
I may approach God with freedom and confidence.
(Ephesians 3:12)
I can do all things through Christ, who strengthens me. (Philippians 4:13)

Childhood echoes of “you’re so ugly” and “you’re so fat”…. “you’re so unlovable”,  “you’re just worthless” …. “what’s wrong with you” and “you can’t do anything right” left me feeling congenitally flawed. I’ve sat in church like someone in a hospital waiting room: hoping for the best, but always expecting the worst. My greatest fear was that I’d be no closer to being free of the insecurity than I was before I was saved. I was conpletely broken ….

But then I sat under the teaching of an older woman; my loving pastor. She opened my eyes to the truths in scripture about who I was, what I had, and where I was; my position as a child of God. I had read those verses scattered throughout scripture before, but when she encouraged me to cluster them together into one list, God began a new work in my heart. He began to affirm to me:
You are a Saint ….
You are chosen ….
You are dearly loved ….
You are chosen ….

These truths were right there on the pages of my Bible in black and white and a few in red ….

You are reconciled through Christ’s life ….
You are justified through Christ’s blood ….
You are free from condemnation ….
You have the mind of Christ You can do ALL things through Christ ….

I knew the verses were the infallible Word of God, but I felt rather squeamish hearing them, reading them, and even more so, believing them. They didn’t feel right. They didn’t sound right. They made me downright uncomfortable, simply because they directly contradicted what I had been told and grown up believing ….

And all the while I was studying about my true identity, the devil taunted me with accusations ~ “who do you think you are? A saint? Are you kidding? This stuff might be true for some people, but it certainly is not true about you” …..

One day God asked me an important question ~ one that He is asking you right now. Who are you going to believe? I stood at a crossroads, one you might be standing at this very moment. Was I going to believe God and begin seeing myself as God saw me, or was I going to continue believing the lies of the enemy and the echoes of my past? Was I going to remain stuck in a stagnant faith because I was too insecure to take a step toward the abundant life that Jesus had promised, or was I going to march confidently around the walls of my inadequacies until they came tumbling down?

Finally, I was sick and tired of being sick and tired. “God, I’m going to believe I am who You say I am,” I prayed. “I don’t feel it. I can barely think it. But I’m going to believe Your Word is true for me and about me.” This was my whispered vow to my heart one night in church, and I have been walking the path on my healing jouney since; growing by leaps and bounds. Certainly, I still have lapses into old mindsets and old thinking, especially when the enemy brings an old memory to rise up to hurt me, but His Word tells me to cast down those vain imaginations (2 Corinthinans 10:5-6), and to resist the devil and he will flee (James 4:7) …. And that’s what I’m challenging you to do today. Let go of your insecurities and take hold of your true identity.

Let us pray ~

Heavenly Father, thank You for choosing me to be your child. Today, I am choosing to believe that I am who You say that I am ~ a holy, dearly loved, child of Yours who is equipped by You, empowered by the Holy Spirit, and enveloped in Jesus Christ. In Jesus’ name, I pray, Amen.

Have you noticed that it is easier to believe what God says about Himself than what God says about you? Jesus said, “I am the light of the world” (John 8:12). We read those words and shout, “Amen! Hallelujah! Woo-hoo!” But He also said, “YOU are the light of the world (Matthew 5:14). Hmmm…. Not a lot of shouting going on with that one. So which is it? Both! Are you going to believe what Jesus said is true about you or not? Write down these three truths and place them wherever you can see them daily; then begin speaking them to your heart and make them your truth today ….. You no longer need to compare yourself ~ God thinks you are just beautiful!
God is with us…. God bless you!

11254131_987501264602486_1656408024_n

Published by: A ~ Rambling ~ Zealot ~

Saved, sanctified, and filled with the Holy Ghost; a woman of God, whose life is devoted and surrendered to God. In essence, I am a Zealot for Jesus Christ. I am Your kindling my Lord ... lay me across Your alter; that Your fire may consume me and burn so brightly that all who see me may see YOU!!! And thereby You will be glorified .... May You be glorified in everything I say, do, or post ....

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

