Think Before You Speak ~

FB_IMG_1461238485669

“Think Before You Speak”

“But I say unto you, that every idle word that men shall speak, they shall give account thereof in the day of judgment.For by thy words thou shalt be justified, and by thy words thou shalt be condemned.”
(Matthew 12:36-37)

Have you ever said something that you wished you could take back? It could’ve been an argument with a spouse or child …. or perhaps it was something said as a joke that just wasn’t quite right ….. or maybe you participated in a gossip session or slandered someone …. Whatever the reason, our words are important and taken into account when we stand before God. What are some ways that we can become better stewards of our conversations? Let’s try to T-H-I-N-K before we speak:

T – Talk to God first thing in the morning …..
(Psalms 88:13) ~ “But unto thee have I cried, O Lord; and in the morning shall my prayer prevent thee.”
Begin each day asking God for His strength and grace to help us overcome this weakness so that He may be glorified by the words of our mouth. We can ask the Holy Spirit to place a guard over our mouths and create a greater sensitivity in our hearts to those we will interact with during each moment of the day ….

H – Have an accountability partner to confide in when you fall short ….
(James 5:16) ~ “Confess your faults one to another, and pray one for another, that ye may be healed. The effectual fervent prayer of a righteous man availeth much.”
We can be honest with a mentor or close friend about our weakness so that they can advise and rebuke us if necessary. There’s something about knowing a friend is going to ask about our weakness that helps us in the restraint of our words we use daily ….

I – Internalize your thoughts before sharing them with others …. (James 1:19) ~ “Wherefore, my beloved brethren, let every man be swift to hear, slow to speak, slow to wrath.”
Sometimes just a slight pause can help us re-phrase what we were going to say or perhaps even better, not say it at all. There’s a discipline to being a more active listener than always having to say something about everything, and a gift of the Spirit is self-control ….

N – Navigate your words to line up with scripture …. (Psalms 19:14) ~ “Let the words of my mouth, and the meditation of my heart, be acceptable in thy sight, O Lord, my strength, and my redeemer.”
God’s word is full of admonishments for believers to be proactive in their faith with edifying and encouraging words. We need to know the Bible so that we know how to speak honestly even in difficult situations …..

K – Keep more to yourself than what you share with others ….
(Proverbs 29:11) ~ “A fool uttereth all his mind: but a wise man keepeth it in till afterwards.”
Most of what we want to say doesn’t need to be heard by anyone. We are deemed wise when we restrain ourselves from always having to talk. Silence can be golden ….

There you have it; my interpretation of what to do to help us in the pursuit of thinking before we speak. May this prove helpful to you at some point this week, and may you be blessed by my acronyms of wisdom ….

Let us pray ~

Dear Lord, I need to slow down and think more about my words before they leave my mouth. I pray for your Holy Spirit to give me insight and direction to overcome speaking too quickly and more importantly inappropriately. In Jesus’ name, amen ….

God bless you ….

Published by: A ~ Rambling ~ Zealot ~

Saved, sanctified, and Spirit filled; I'm an on- fire, tongue-talkin' Holy Ghost dynamo! I am Your kindling my Lord ... lay me across Your alter; that Your fire may consume me and burn so brightly that all who see me may see YOU!!! .. May You be glorified in everything I say, do, or post ....

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

