Are We There Yet?

Do-You-Need-A-New-Perspective

Are We There Yet?

“O magnify the Lord with me, and let us exalt His name together.”
(Psalm 34:3)

Have you ever had to do any long distance driving? Driving for hour after hour, watching the road signs whiz by, mile after mile, can begin to blur your vision and you simply have to pull over to get fresh eyes and clear your head because pulling over gives you a new perspective ….

It is the same way with our spiritual walk with God.
There are times when we need fresh eyes. We need to pause at a point and get a new perspective. Often God lovingly pulls us over and makes us stop what we are doing; maybe through a health crisis, or the loss of a job or a loved one ~ because He knows we need to see things differently. Actually, He wants us to see Him differently ….

Over and over in Scripture, when people came to a critical juncture in their lives, they got a fresh view of God. Moses got it. Elijah got it. Abraham, Isaiah, and Mary, the mother of Jesus, got it. And guess what? You’ve got to get it too ….

ecd572fdf59a9b1c8f3f1dad69b31bd9

Your Heavenly Father may be saying to you right now, “all right …. It’s time to pull over …. let’s get back to Who I Am”…

That’s why the David says, “O, magnify the Lord with me.” It’s not that we need to make God bigger than He is. We need to see God for His actual greatness. We need to see our problems in proportion to the majesty of Almighty God …. It’s fairly simple; small God? Big problems ~ Big God? Small problems!!

“Greatness” and “Majesty” are good words to describe God, but an even better word would be “transcendence” to me, because the word equates to surpassing and beyond, above in excellence, in splendor, in majesty, in attribute and in beauty. Simply beyond all else, and beyond compare ….
The dictionary definition of this word is this: existence or experience beyond the normal or physical level; synonyms: excellence, supremacy, incomparability and magnificence.”

That truly defines how I feel about God. It’s what you might feel standing on a mountaintop, looking out over a valley or an ocean. It’s what you feel beholding the beauty of a sunrise or the splendor and magnificence of witnessing hues of colors displayed across the sky at sunset …. just magnificent beyond compare. Once a couple months ago, I experienced this wave of emotion and I had to pause, to “pull over” from the task that I was doing and simply stand in awe for a few minutes; and as I pondered this, I thought about the scripture in (Isaiah 6:3), and thought to myself, “Great is the Lord. The whole earth is full of His glory!” It was quite something to behold.

In closing; I ask you; is it time to pull over yet? Perhaps you need a fresh view of the greatness of God, or you’re not going to have the strength for what’s to come. When you can achieve a fresh set of eyes, and see God from a new perspective; it revitalizes your whole being, and gives you a renewed strength. I challenge you to let God take you apart. See His majesty with new eyes …. Hear His Word with new ears …. If you’re losing that sense of the transcendence of God, it’s time to pull over and pray for a renewed mind ….

Some things to ponder this week might be: what is it in your life that threatens to keep you from seeing the magnificence of God? Confess that to the Lord and ask Him to remind you of His greatness and His power to change you ….

Let us pray ~

Holy God, how great are You, and greatly to be praised (Psalm 48). I thank You for pulling me over from my busyness and mediocre tasks to give me a renewed view of Yourself. I confess that sometimes I am tempted to see my problems as big and not acknowledge You as bigger to handle them for me. I must remember at all times that You are a good Father and You know how to give good gifts to your children; so please renew my mind and give me fresh glimpses of Your majesty and magnificence today, I pray, in the holy and precious name of Jesus, amen ….

“I will bless the Lord at ALL times: His praise shall continually be in my mouth. My soul shall make her boast in the Lord: the humble shall hear thereof, and be glad. O magnify the Lord with me, and let us exalt His name together.”
(Psalm 34:1-3)

God is with us ….

Published by: A ~ Rambling ~ Zealot ~

Saved, sanctified, and Spirit filled; I'm an on- fire, tongue-talkin' Holy Ghost dynamo! I am Your kindling my Lord ... lay me across Your alter; that Your fire may consume me and burn so brightly that all who see me may see YOU!!! .. May You be glorified in everything I say, do, or post ....

Categories UncategorizedLeave a comment

Leave a Reply

