The Gift of Singleness

28b89b59bf2550d471a593c2ada00cd4-1

The Gift of Singleness

“I say therefore to the unmarried and widows, It is good for them if they abide even as I.”
(1 Corinthians 7:8)

Being single may be one of the best gifts that you will ever receive. Some of you may not feel this way, but some us have enjoyed this gift of singleness, and others of us were given this gift, even though we didn’t ask for it. I am a widow, and although I did not ask for this particular lifestyle, I have never in my entire life been happier or more content. I discovered a new freedom that I would not trade for anything ….

Singleness is a special and unique gift for those who’ve come to a place of contentment in their relationship with God. It’s definitely not for everyone, and it may be a gift for a season (until marriage or remarriage). Regardless, if it’s a lifetime of singleness; or a season of singleness, having a time when God is the true center and focus is an opportunity to know Him more intimately than ever before ….

The world will tempt us to believe that we must have a spouse in order for us to feel complete. This may sound true to our ears and hearts, but alas, it is false. While marriage between a man and woman is a beautiful gift, there will be a day when none of us are given in marriage. In heaven, everyone will be single and we will have complete joy with the Lord. Our marriages are only set apart for this temporary time on earth and many of us have had them break up even before death.

Singleness in the Lord broadens our minds and hearts to believe God more deeply because He becomes our greatest love. As our Provider and closest Confidante, He knows our needs before we ever ask Him. He draws us into His presence in the alone times and we began to long for more of Him than anything else ….

Just as Moses reflected God’s glory, we also reflect His glory in our words and actions to those in our homes, schools, workplaces, and communities. There is great joy in the single life that is completely committed to Christ in all things ….. For me individually, I have devoted myself to my Lord and my maker is my husband. He has absolved me from the lusts of the flesh and I do not feel that I am missing anything nor do I desire any mate to feel complete. The beauty is that He has become the love of my life, the greatest and the best love. I have discovered intimacy of a form I never knew or experienced in my marriage, and I believe He saved the best for last with me. There will be no other in my life but Him. I have the greatest joy to be awakened by Him singing in my ears, and then I get to spend my whole day with Him. He is the first I speak to as I wake, and the very last as I lay my head to rest. This is being made complete ….. and what in this life could be more beautiful than that?

Let us pray ~

Dear Lord, thank You for this gift of singleness. Help me to know You more deeply every day of my life. I am your bride and I await You, my bridegroom, that I may soon receive Your kiss upon my cheek…. I give You all of my praise, all of the honor, and all of the glory. Thank you for my beautiful life. In Jesus name, Amen

“The Lord bless thee, and keep thee:The Lord make His face shine upon thee, and be gracious unto thee:
The Lord lift up His countenance upon thee, and give thee peace.”
(Numbers 6:24-26)

God is with us …..

Published by: A ~ Rambling ~ Zealot ~

Saved, sanctified, and Spirit filled; I'm an on- fire, tongue-talkin' Holy Ghost dynamo! I am Your kindling my Lord ... lay me across Your alter; that Your fire may consume me and burn so brightly that all who see me may see YOU!!! .. May You be glorified in everything I say, do, or post ....

Categories UncategorizedLeave a comment

Leave a Reply

