A Zealot Speaks …

Ramblings of a Zealot ~

Have you ever feared that God might change His mind about you? Have you ever worried that you might be too much of a sinner …. or too lax of a believer …. and perhaps He’s going to cancel His commitment to you?

The good news is, God’s commitment to Christ’s followers isn’t about us; it’s about Jesus. So, if we are in Christ, abiding in Him, we don’t have to worry about God changing His mind. But then that leads to a new, more terrifying thought: what if He changes His mind about Jesus? Isn’t that what He did with the old covenant? What if He decides to make a new covenant … one where simply trusting in Jesus isn’t enough?

“The Lord hath sworn, and will not repent” …. (Psalm 110:4), which means He will not change His mind.

I want you to see how Jesus was the plan from the beginning. And because the Father’s commitment to Jesus is unshakable, His commitment to us is as well ….

We may be weary to trust and feeling fearful or anxious and need rest. Perhaps someone I am speaking to is facing opposition and needs peace …. you need peace or that calm assurance that God is in control ….

God knows we all need peace, myself included.
(Ephesians 2:14) assures us that Jesus Himself is our peace.
(2 Thessalonians 3:16) says, “Now the Lord of peace Himself give you peace always by all means. The Lord be with you all.”

“I will always give you peace” says the Lord. We live in a restless world that longs for peace. Because the Prince of Peace lives within us, we have access to a peace that is beyond our own understanding. A peace that will bring rest and tranquility to the anxiousness of our soul. A peace that will be a shield and a shelter for our tender hearts …. The peace that rests on Jesus is the peace that is promised to every child of God as part of our inheritance. No matter what you are going through in your life, God promises to give you peace at all times and in every situation. As (Isaiah 26:3-4) says… “Thou wilt keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on thee: because he trusteth in thee. Trust ye in the Lord for ever: for in the Lord Jehovah is everlasting strength.”

Remember, God doesn’t dispense peace like a pharmacist filling a prescription: “Take two, and call me in the morning” …. He gives us Himself. God doesn’t have to give us something. He “IS” the something, and everything that we need in every situation we will ever have to face. Jesus Christ fulfills the promise of God’s peace and it’s Christ’s presence that takes away fear …. It’s Christ’s sovereignty that assures and calms us in the face of doubts ….
It’s Christ’s goodness that renews us when we are weighed down by pangs of despair …. It’s Christ’s watchfulness and intervention that keep us from faltering …. And it’s Christ’s inevitable victory that assures us we will not fail ….

When we think about times of trial in our lives, if we really pinpoint what’s most difficult about the trial, it’s the “not knowing” part. Probably the biggest reason why we fear, doubt, despair, and falter is that we don’t know how it’s all going to end …. We cannot see past our pain, sorrow, or the trial we are undergoing. Every one of us lives with some level of uncertainty. You’re not alone in this struggle. You may have some insecurities in your life right now; I’m living with some question marks too. I want to be a woman who doesn’t quit in the face of opposition, and I am facing opposition right now, and ohh how I feel like quitting. Please help me Lord…
Some of you, my friends, may be feeling oppressed. Yours might take the form of a health crisis, a broken relationship, a financial problem, a wandering child, a self-destructing family member …. There are many forms of opposition and all test our strength, patience, and determination to press on in the face of struggle and opposition. But with Jesus as our advocate; always interceding for us with the Father (Romans 8:34), we can face any trial and come out victorious ….

“And He said, My presence shall go with thee, and I will give thee rest.” (Exodus 33:14)
Remember, if Christ be for us, who can be against us (Romans 8:31).

Think of the stresses that keep you awake at night; those issues that linger on the edges of your thoughts and never fully go away. If you definitively knew when and how that circumstance would end, you would be okay, right? ….. If you could foresee that it would end well, then you could bear the waiting, the testing, the sorrows of churning emotions, right? ….. If you could predict with certainty that it would end badly, then you could prepare yourself for what’s to come, right? …. It’s the not knowing that pushes you to the limit …. We fixate on our momentary trials, often wondering anxiously “how will this end, if I only knew” but we should know ultimately a greater thing is coming; “for our light affliction, which is but for a moment, worketh for us a far more exceeding and eternal weight of glory” (2 Corinthians 4:17).

And actually we do know God is always victorious. Ultimately, we will not fail, if we walk steadfastly with Jesus …. Certainly, we will experience some pains, sorrows, hurts, and losses along the way. But in the end, because Jesus wins, so do we ….

Some things to ponder this week might be:,with what uncertainties are you living right now? What stresses keep you awake at night? How does Jesus’ ultimate victory change your perspective on the trials here and now?

Let us pray ~
Lord God, by faith I choose to lift my eyes from my momentary trials to the final outcome; that Jesus wins. No matter how my life looks or feels today, I will choose to hold your hand and walk on regardless of the outcome or circumstances I face. I will trust You Lord, and I will remember that You said if I confess my sins then You are faithful and just to forgive my sins. Strengthen me Lord today; to face this week and anything that the devil should throw at me. I will give You praise, honor and glory regardless. In Jesus name, Amen …..

GodsPromises8-1

Published by: A ~ Rambling ~ Zealot ~

Saved, sanctified, and filled with the Holy Ghost; a woman of God, whose life is devoted and surrendered to God. In essence, I am a Zealot for Jesus Christ. I am Your kindling my Lord ... lay me across Your alter; that Your fire may consume me and burn so brightly that all who see me may see YOU!!! And thereby You will be glorified .... May You be glorified in everything I say, do, or post ....

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

