Thy Will ~ Not Mine

Ramblings of a Zealot ~            Thy Will ~ Not Mine

“For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the Lord, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end.
Then shall ye call upon me, and ye shall go and pray unto me, and I will hearken unto you. And ye shall seek me, and find me, when ye shall search for me with all your heart.”
(Jeremiah 29:11–13).

God has a plan for your life. He has some objectives for you. Even knowing those truths, it’s still easy to get stuck in the bottomless vortex of questions: What am I supposed to do? Who am I supposed to marry? Where am I going to live? Where am I supposed to work? How am I going to make it this month? ….. It’s time to set aside the questions and get back to what God has said ….
His plans for you are not so much about those specifics, as they are about developing your character. Everything else will sort itself out ….

God always has plans for the welfare and future of those who are His. He always has plans to give His children hope. Even in the middle of sad and sobering words of judgment, God poured out His heart for His people. He pointed them (and us) toward relationship. The circumstances He allows are designed to cause us to call upon Him. We can never fully comprehend His thoughts or His ways, as they are far above and higher than our feeble minds can fathom (Isaiah 55:8-9), but we’re always able to call, seek, and find Him because He wants us to call, seek, and find Him!

When God says, “I know the plans that I think toward you”; it means He already knows the plans that He has for us. His words are a great comfort. We know already that He works everything out for the good for His children and those called according to His purpose (Romans 8:28), but wouldn’t you love to get a look at those plans? The tension isn’t in, “does God know?” The tension is in, “I want to know!” and often it is “I want to know right now!” Although God understands our questions, He doesn’t owe us any answers. It’s as if He says, “I know, but I’m not going to fill you in . . . yet.”

He does give us hints, however. God provides us with some general categories that describe His purposes. Let’s break it down, shall we?

First, they are plans for your welfare. The Hebrew word is “shalom”, meaning, “the complete state of well-being; fulfillment; prosperity; and peace” …..
As God looks down the telescope of time, His plans are for your total well-being, and His timing is always perfect ……

Second, His designs for you are not for evil. People who are determined to prove they can live contrary to God’s program will pay a price for their experiment. God’s plans take us away from evil; ours tend to take us smack into the middle of it. Simple unmistakable truth …..

Third, God’s plans are designed to give you an expected end. And that is; a future and a hope, both immediately and eternally. The “biblical” definition of hope is a confident expectation of something better for tomorrow. When your hope is in God, He’ll always deliver. It doesn’t matter what has happened; better things are coming. That’s hope! You can be confident He has good plans for you ….

In closing, let us end on a positive note: the promise;
“Then shall ye call upon me, and ye shall go and pray unto me, and I will hearken unto you. And ye shall seek me, and find me, when ye shall search for me with all your heart” …..
He WILL hearken; meaning He WILL hear. He is always listening…. “The eyes of the Lord are upon the righteous, and His ears are open unto their cry….. The righteous cry, and the Lord heareth, and delivereth them out of all their troubles.” (Psalm 34:15,17). You “shall seek me and find me”, meaning He IS waiting even this very moment, as you read this. However, He desires all of your heart, the whole thing — and not merely a portion; and this denotes sacrifice. He says, “I love them that love me; and those that seek me early shall find me” (Proverbs 8:17).
Hmmmm, “early” …. that means, are you sleeping in to catch that extra hour of sleep, or do you sleep til that alarm goes off before your workday; and then hit that snooze button a couple more times; or do you rise a little earlier to seek Him and His will for your day? Do you just squeeze in some prayers for your loved ones on the drive in to your destination,  or are you sowing in tears and fervent prayer? There’s something to ponder, huh? Yep, I see I lost a few right there …. Hey, I don’t judge, I simply clarify what it means to “search with all your heart”… it’s really all about priorities. It’s an exchange program; you exchange your priorities for His; and He gives you everything you need for this life (Matthew 6:33), and excuses won’t hold weight with Him. You either want Him or you don’t. There is no wishy-washy to it. He says, hot or cold, but definately not lukewarm: “So then because thou art lukewarm, and neither cold nor hot, I will spue thee out of my mouth” (Revelation 3:16). Simply stated, you must make up your mind how bad you want Him because a double-minded person is unstable in all their ways (James 1:8). Often using our whole heart with anything, means it requires not only sacrifice of something, but it also requires obedience. It’s gonna cost you sonething. But seriously, if it doesn’t cost us something ~ is it really worth having, or better yet, do we even appreciate it as much? I think we always appreciate something more if we’ve had to work harder to get it. And all the more less likely are we to take that thing for granted …. Thy Will ~ not mine be done today, and everyday …..

Something to ponder:
What have you learned about God’s good plans for you? Why doesn’t God reveal all His plans for us now? How does the not-knowing grow our faith?

Let us pray ~

Father God; I thank You that You have good plans and thoughts for me, and I’m glad that Your thoughts are higher than mine. However I may feel today, and whatever I may face, I can rest and anticipate that You are working it for the good and that You are in all of it. So I will call to you, come to You, and pray to You knowing that You are listening and will hear me. I will seek You knowing that You will allow Yourself to be found by me. I know that I cannot even imagine all of the good that You have planned for my life, but I also know that it is all coming in Jesus name; so I can say amen and therefore have hope to wait. Thank You Father for allowing me one more day to say “Thank You” ….. In Jesus’ name I pray, Amen

“Incline your ear, and come unto me: hear, and your soul shall live; and I will make an everlasting covenant with you, even the sure mercies of David.”
(Isaiah 55:3)

“Seek ye the Lord while He may be found, call ye upon Him while He is near.”
(Isaiah 55:6)

God is with us …..

Published by: A ~ Rambling ~ Zealot ~

Saved, sanctified, and Spirit filled; I'm an on- fire, tongue-talkin' Holy Ghost dynamo! I am Your kindling my Lord ... lay me across Your alter; that Your fire may consume me and burn so brightly that all who see me may see YOU!!! .. May You be glorified in everything I say, do, or post ....

1 Comment

One thought on “Thy Will ~ Not Mine”

Leave a Reply

