Ramblings From a Zealot ~

Ramblings from a Zealot ~

“Have not I commanded thee? Be strong and of a good courage; be not afraid, neither be thou dismayed: for the Lord thy God is with thee whithersoever thou goest.”
(Joshua 1:9)

The story is often told of a man who went on a journey with God. Though he couldn’t see God physically, he could see God’s footprints in the sand as they walked together. So each time he saw that extra pair of footprints, he knew the Lord was with him ….

On the way, things got harder and harsher, and he experienced some turbulent moments as they journeyed, and he thought to himself, “I’m supposed to be on this journey with God, so why have things gotten so rough and tough?” So he then checked to see if God was still there, and seeing only one set of footprints, he cried out, “Lord, where are you? How come you left me at the most difficult part of the journey?” Then the Lord replied, “I never left you. I’ve been with you every step of the way.” …. “No you haven’t” the man cried. “I had been seeing two pair of footprints, but now there’s only one I see in the sand.” Then, ever so gently, the Lord replied to him, “the footprints that you saw weren’t yours, but mine; I had to carry you when the journey became too rough and tough.” …..

I know we have probably all heard that story, but it is a favorite of mine; and it helps to remind us of how loving and caring our Lord is! Even when we don’t realize it, He is there with us. At the most difficult part of our journey, when we think, or even feel that we are all alone; He’s still there with us ….  Not to necessarily partake of trouble with us, or to suffer along with us, but to carry us safely through and bring us through it victoriously. He grieves when we are hurting and feel alone.

In (Hebrews 13:5-6), He says, “I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee.” So that we may boldly say, “The Lord is my helper, and I will not fear what man shall do unto me.”

The Lord commanded Joshua in our opening scripture to be “strong and courageous.” That was because He knew that the time would come when certain things would happen that could instigate fear and cause discouragements to happen. But He comforted him and reassured him by saying, “be not afraid, neither be thou dismayed: for the Lord thy God is with thee whithersoever thou goest” …..

The Lord is saying this same to you today: “Be strong and courageous!”
People may have given up on you because of your decision to serve the Lord; or perhaps you might even be facing some tough times at home, in your office, or at school. Maybe you are in the storms of despair over emotional wounds still unhealed. But I want to enourage you today; be strong! …. Don’t give up! The Lord is with you! You are NOT alone!
Please don’t allow the enemy to bring you into defeat with those doubts that he whispers into your ears, or disparaging thoughts that consume your mind. Thus saith the Lord to you today:
“When thou passest through the waters, I will be with thee; and through the rivers, they shall not overflow thee: when thou walkest through the fire, thou shalt not be burned; neither shall the flame kindle upon thee. For I am the Lord thy God, the Holy One of Israel, thy Saviour: I gave Egypt for thy ransom, Ethiopia and Seba for thee.
Since thou wast precious in my sight, thou hast been honourable, and I have loved thee: therefore will I give men for thee, and people for thy life. Fear not: for I am with thee.”
(Isaiah 43:2-5)

Let us pray ~

Lord God; help me to not fear or doubt. Gracious Lord, You know me better than I know myself and I need Your healing touch on my life today. You know all about the emotional pain that I have been going through, and I need You Lord to come into my heart and to bind up the brokenness within me. The storms of life have battered and bruised me emotionally and I need Your healing touch. Lord, I come to You today to heal my emotions, heal my wounded heart, I pray, heal the anguish that is deep inside. Flood every corner of my being with Your soothing balm and Your healing love; and please root out all the negative emotions that are churning inside me. Release into the aching void within me Your love, Your peace, Your hope, and Your gracious presence and gently carry me as a kindly Shepherd would carry a little frightened, wounded lamb. Lord I am trusting in You, because I know that You alone can be trusted. In Jesus’ precious and holy name, Amen ….

Make this your declaration of faith today ~

I refuse to be disheatened by any situation that I must go through. Rather, I will rejoice because I know that my Lord is with me, and He will always make me to be victorious. He is my Strength, my Healer, my Restorer, and my Deliverer. Therefore today, I will have hope!

“This book of the law shall not depart out of thy mouth; but thou shalt meditate therein day and night, that thou mayest observe to do according to all that is written therein: for then thou shalt make thy way prosperous, and then thou shalt have good success. Have not I commanded thee? Be strong and of a good courage; be not afraid, neither be thou dismayed: for the Lord thy God is with thee whithersoever thou goest.” (Joshua 1:8-9)

“Let your conversation be without covetousness; and be content with such things as ye have: for he hath said, I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee.” (Hebrews 13:5)

“Teaching them to observe all things whatsoever I have commanded you: and, lo, I am with you alway, even unto the end of the world. Amen.”
(Matthew 28:20)

God is with us …. God bless you this day!

Published by: A ~ Rambling ~ Zealot ~

Saved, sanctified, and Spirit filled; I'm an on- fire, tongue-talkin' Holy Ghost dynamo! I am Your kindling my Lord ... lay me across Your alter; that Your fire may consume me and burn so brightly that all who see me may see YOU!!! .. May You be glorified in everything I say, do, or post ....

Categories UncategorizedLeave a comment

Leave a Reply

